LibGuides: Nursing: Articles/Databases

Use Primo to find SUNY Erie Library books, articles, and more

Refine Primo Results by Material Type: Articles

Tip: You can use the "Refine your results" menu to limit your Primo Search results to articles only. Select Material Type, then select Articles. Remember to click the APPLY FILTERS button after you make your selection. See also: Filtering Search Results in Primo

Explore Relevant Article Databases

Primo locates results in databases like those listed below. Often the articles contained in databases are available as PDF or HTML files that will open in your Internet browser or a PDF application like Adobe Acrobat Reader. You can explore all of our databases at the A-Z Databases list.

Ovid Nursing - Community College Extended Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
Ovid Nursing is a collection of current nursing journals that focus on evidence-based treatment, diagnostic tests, continuing education, drug information, patient education, clinical decision support, and more.
How do I log into Ovid Nursing when I am off campus?
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the online version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature.
How do I limit CINAHL search results to articles from "nursing journals"?
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc. MEDLINE makes up the largest part of the PubMed database.
How do I limit MEDLINE search results to articles from "nursing journals"?
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides access to nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Includes nursing and allied health topics.
How do I limit Health Source search results to articles from "nursing journals"?

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
This database provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. It is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
How do I limit Gale OneFile search results to articles from "nursing journals"?

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect includes scientific, technical, medical, and social science information from Elsevier Science and other publishers.
How do I limit ScienceDirect search results to articles from "nursing journals"?
Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes thousands of open-access articles related to coronaviruses, including the COVID-19 outbreak. The articles are from leading publishers and include research from pre-print repositories. Complimentary COVID-19 trial access.

NOTE: SUNY Erie students and employees may request articles that are not available in the college's databases.

CINAHL Databases Advanced Search Tutorial Video (3 min. 45 sec.)
Covers the core Advanced Search features of all EBSCO's CINAHL products
CINAHL Frequently Asked Questions
MEDLINE Ultimate - Tutorial Video (3 min. 05 sec.)
Covers the core features of all EBSCOhost's MEDLINE products. See also: Advanced Searching on EBSCOhost - Tutorial
MEDLINE Frequently Asked Questions
ScienceDirect: Advanced Search Tutorial Video (2 min. 41 sec.)
Note: This video uses text and graphics only to demonstrate ScienceDirect. There is no audio.
ScienceDirect: Advanced Search Help
Learn the finer points of searching in ScienceDirect

Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Contains consumer health information and a selection of peer-reviewed medical journal articles.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-discipline database with access to articles from scientific, medical, and other professions. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.

You can explore all of our databases at the A-Z Databases list.

NOTE: SUNY Erie students and employees may request articles that are not available in the college's databases.

Open Access Journals

Open-access journals are scholarly journals that are available online to the reader without financial, legal, or technical barriers. The content is available free to anyone with internet access.

BMC Nursing
BMC Nursing is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of nursing research, training, education and practice. It is published by BioMed Central.
BioMed Central
BioMed Central publishes 223 peer-reviewed open access journals.
PubMed Central
An open access database of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. A sub-division of PubMed. - Full text