LibGuides: Nursing: Internet Research

Drug Information

National Library of Medicine: DailyMed
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA approved labels (package inserts). The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements.
National Library of Medicine: Drug Information Portal
The portal provides quick access to quality drug information from multiple medical research organizations. Maintained by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

Internet Health Information Portals

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention provide highly credible information on disease data and statistics, emergencies and disasters, environmental health, healthy living, and much more. Features podcasts and RSS feeds.
Erie County Department of Health The mission of the Erie County Department of Health is to protect the public's health, to prevent disease and premature death through the promotion of healthy living and wellness, and to provide a safety net of services for those with limited access to healthcare.
New York State Department of Health The New York State Department of Health provides assistance with the following: * Birth, marriage, divorce or death records * Medicaid * Information about a particular doctor * Job openings in the health care professions * Emergency Medical Services (EMS) * Forms * Public Health Law
MedLinePlus MedLinePlus brings together authoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
Merck Manuals Professional Version The Merck Manuals Professional Version offers trusted, concise and correct discussions of diagnosis and therapy. Content is updated monthly to keep current with changes in medical care
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMRW) The MMWR series is the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations. Features podcasts and RSS feeds.
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) (NCCAM) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.
National Center for Health Statistics The National Center for Health Statistics is a rich source of information about America's health. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, it compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people.
National Institutes of Heath - Health Information The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research. The site contains browsable health topics from A-Z. It highlights health resources for children, teens, men, women, and seniors.
211 WNY 211 WNY is your free and confidential link to health and human services in Western New York.
more...less...
Informational assistance available through 211 includes: pregnancy, developmental disabilities, domestic abuse, health & wellness, mental health, food & nutrition, substance abuse, support groups, and more.

Professional Literature Resources on the Internet

PubMed
Digital archive of citations from biomedical and life sciences journals. - Partial full text. Many of the cited articles found in PubMed are available in full text from SUNY Erie's access to MEDLINE with Full Text.
PubMed Central
An open access database of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. A sub-division of PubMed. - Full text
Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice - Training Course
PubMed is a free research tool from the National Library of Medicine®. This course will show you how to use evidence-based practice when searching clinical questions using PubMed®.
U.S. National Library of Medicine
A hub for medical research related to public health, health information technology, biomedicine, and grant/funding opportunities

BioDigital's Coronavirus Interactive 3D Media Assets

View a collection of 3D models that will help you understand the science behind Coronavirus. The models linked below are powered by the resources at BioDigital. They are best viewed over a high-speed internet connection while using the latest versions of either Google Chrome, Firefox, or Safari Internet browsers.

For best results, open only one model at a time.