Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Virtual Library Survival Guide: Home

A guide for Students to help them become familiar with the library, especially materials and services that are offered virtually, even when campus is closed.

Virtual Library Survival Guide

 

Tutorial on Primo basics: signing in, searching, and saving results

Use Primo to Search the Library Right Here!

 

10 Things You Need to Know

1. The Library homepagewww.ecc.edu/library/ — is your ‘gateway’ to the library’s research services. Bookmark it or make it a Favorite.

2.  Many of our materials are available online! To find books, videos, eBooks and articles — Use Primo from the library homepage. This searches all of our databases as well as the library catalog. This is the BEST way to find out which materials you can access from off-campus.

3.  Librarians are valuable resources — We also offer assistance via our online chat, text, and online subject guides (all available from library homepage). You can text us at (716) 791-5154, or chat or email us questions at https://libanswers.ecc.edu . When the libraries reopen, you can find us there too! 
 

  • Current LibChat Hours (Fall Semester)
Mon - Thu    9am - 8pm
Fri 9am - 4pm
Sat 10am - 2pm
Sun Closed

4. You can visit your Library Account Page to see what materials you currently have checked out and their due dates. 

5. Reserve materials - During times of campus closure, we are making arrangements to try to get students access to as many reserve materials as possible, contact us at Library@ecc.edu if you need help getting access.

6.  To find articles, search our online Databases — you have access 24/7 to newspaper, magazine and scholarly journals. Databases are often subject specific, and certain databases might be helpful for certain assignments. Many include the full-text online. Ask a librarian if you need help deciding which databases to search. Remote access from home is free with your SUNY Erie Login. https://libguides.ecc.edu/az.php

7. Book-A-Librarian—Need help with your research? Schedule an appointment with one of your friendly campus librarians. You can still do this Virtually. Schedule here: https://libcal.ecc.edu/booking/Research_Appointment  

8.  Your SUNY Erie ID Card is your Library card. When the libraries reopen, you will need an ID to checkout materials

9. Printing - Once the libraries reopen, you can will be able to Print in the Library using our print release stations. Your account has a credit for printing loaded on it at the beginning of each semester.  North and South Campus Libraries are open limited hours for computer use only.  Current availability of Computers and Printers are:

City Campus - Room 460 (Computer Lab)

Mon 8am - 4pm
Tue 8am - 7pm
Wed - Thu   8am - 4pm
Fri - Sun Closed

North Campus - Library D101

Mon - Tue   8am - 4pm
Wed 8am - 7pm
Thu 8am - 4pm
Fri - Sun Closed

South Campus - Library 5201

Mon - Wed  8am - 4pm
Thu 8am - 7pm
Fri - Sun Closed

10. Use our Interlibrary Loan services to obtain books or the full text of journal articles from other libraries. Currently, physical materials are not being borrowed, but you can still use ILL to obtain electronic journal articles. https://www.ecc.edu/interlibrary-loan/

 

What Else Does the Library Have for Me?

More Online Library Resources:


Once Campus Reopens, this is what you can find inside our libraries!

  • A HUGE Array of physical materials:  books, audiobooks, DVDs, and more! We even have leisure reading collections!
  • Computers for research. These workstations also include a variety of software for turning that research into something great.
  • · Group Study Rooms
  • · Quiet Study Areas
call the library: City Library North Library South Library
716.851.1074 716.851.1273 716.851.1772