Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Started: SUNY OER, OPEN-NYS, & Merlot's ISBN Search
Not sure where to start? Browse SUNY OER ready-to-adopt courses: https://oer.suny.edu/
Other great starting points:
Don't despair if you are unable to find a perfect match using these tools. There may be other options available using the OER repositories listed on this page!
Open Textbook Collections
Open textbooks are free, online learning materials with Creative Commons licenses. Many of the collections will have links to the same books, but each will have a particular focus, and items you can't find in other collections.
Initiated by Rice University, their free textbooks are developed and peer-reviewed to ensure they meet the scope and sequence requirements of college courses.
Open Textbook Library
Created by the University of Minnesota to support development of high-quality open textbooks in various subjects.
Collection of freely available open textbooks for download, online reading, and sharing.
Open SUNY Textbooks
With the initiative of the SUNY Libraries, Open SUNY Textbooks publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed textbooks for use in higher education.
MERLOT Open Textbook
Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT) is a curated resource of free and online textbooks for use in teaching and learning.
BC Campus OpenEd
Open textbooks for the 40 highest enrolled first- and second-year subject areas in the British Columbia's public, post-secondary system.
A free collection of mathematics-related open textbooks. Includes supplements and a link to order print copies of the book.
Creator, publisher, distributor, and seller of open textbooks and ancillary materials to college-level students.
Global Text Project
Joint venture between the University of Georgia and University of Denver business schools. Provides a free library of thousands of texts on various topics.
European eBook publisher with 1000+ textbooks freely available to download. E-books are primarily in business/economics, engineering/natural sciences and IT.
OER repositories contain more than just open textbooks. All content featured within these pages is free but usage rights vary. Materials in these repositories are released under a Creative Commons license while some are in the public domain.
Free, peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials maintained by the California State University System.
SUNY - Lumen OER Course Development Support
Supports faculty in identifying and selecting high quality OER, aligning these to learning outcomes, and assembling them to create OER-based courses.
Funded by ISKME, OER Commons is a library of OER materials containing over 50,000 high-quality OER.
Openstax CNX (formerly Connexions)
Contains textbooks, articles, supplements, and other learning resources that can be read online or downloaded for free.
Open Course Library
Collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments.
California Open Online Library for Education (Cool4Ed)
Library of free open source textbooks and other materials from the State of California Higher Educations Systems.
A web-based publication of materials from thousands of MIT courses. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
AMSER (Applied Math and Science Education Repository)
Portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in community and technical Colleges.
This library contains downloadable free courses, video lectures, and supplemental materials from universities across the globe.
OASIS - SUNY Geneseo
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 64 different sources and contains 160,546 records.
OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library in consultation with Alexis Clifton, SUNY OER Services Executive Director.
Ask a Librarian!
Need assistance finding, evaluating, adopting, or adapting OER materials? The library can help!
Please contact librarian Justin Cronise, OER/AIM liaison for SUNY Erie Libraries:
College Librarian - Collection Development, User Experience, & OER
Library E-Books as Textbook Alternative
Library ebooks can also be used as a textbook alternative or supplemental materials to enhance delivery of your course. Most of these resources are not open.
Advantages of ebooks include:
- accessible 24/7 from anywhere with your username and password
- can search the text of the book to find information
Want to Adopt this Guide?
|call the library: