Library Resources - CH112 - Understanding Drugs - LibGuides at SUNY Erie Community College

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, etc. (Electronic book format)

The following examples are part of the SUNY Erie libraries' access to the Gale Virtual Reference, eBook collection.

Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior (2009) Explores the social, medical, legal and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors. Includes emerging topics and developments in the many fields of addiction studies.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Prescription Drugs (2015) This encyclopedia features entries on the most commonly prescribed drugs. It describes potential side effects, drug and food interactions, recommended dosages, and warnings/precautions.
Salem Health: Addictions, Substance Abuse & Alcoholism (2018) Provides authoritative and essential information pertaining to addictions and substance abuse in easy-to-understand language.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, ed. 4 (2018) This set provides more than 1,000 entries covering topics in nursing and allied health written for students and professionals in the field. Alphabetically arranged entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment

Preparing Your Research

MLA Citation Examples This short guide is based on the MLA Handbook, 8th ed., MLA, 2016.
MLA 9th Edition Interactive Tutorial Created by Library Resource Center, SUNY Erie Community College
APA Citation Examples This short guide is based on the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.
APA 7th Edition Interactive Tutorial Created by Library Resource Center, SUNY Erie Community College

Research, Writing and Citation Guide
by Keri Thomas-Whiteside Last Updated Nov 22, 2022 1903 views this year

Use Primo to find SUNY Erie Library books, articles, and more

Search for Individual Articles in the Library's Article Databases

Selected databases are listed below. Explore all of our database at the A-Z Databases list. Often the articles contained in databases are available as PDF or HTML files that will open in your Internet browser or a PDF application like Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Covers of nursing and allied health.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc.

Browse the Library's Books and eBooks for Related Subjects

The following links perform subject searches in Primo. The results could be available at one or more of the SUNY Erie libraries. The results may also be available form on or off campus as part of our online electronic collection.