Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Library & More
PRIMO provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more. Includes course reserves.
Library Periodicals (Journals & Magazines) & Databases
Academic Search Complete Contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.
Applied Science & Technology Source Covering a wide variety of applied science specialties - from acoustics and aeronautics, to neural networks and nuclear & civil engineering - Applied Science & Technology Full Text provides full-text content and in-depth indexing and abstracts from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers' guides, directories and conference proceedings.
Associates Program Source Designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges. Covers a wide range of subjects, including alcohol & drug abuse counseling, criminal justice, para-legal studies, and graphic arts.
Business Insights: Essentials Company and industry information along with scholarly and general business periodicals. Replaces Business and Company Resource Center.
Business Source Complete Provides extensive full text journal coverage. Resources also include financial data, books, industry reports, SWOT analyses and more.
Education Source This full-text source of education scholarship provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods and much more.
Environment Complete Includes coverage of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, and environmental technology.
Gale Academic OneFile Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. It features extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Gale General OneFile A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
HeinOnline HeinOnline is a legal research collection that features full-text searching of laws and regulations, case law, treaties and agreements, scholarly legal and criminal justice periodicals, and related materials.
MEDLINE Provides medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc.
Nexis Uni Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. NexisUni is replacing LexisNexis Academic.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium Nursing & Allied Health Premium is a user-friendly, multiformat database for nursing research, clinical skills development, and curriculum support. Whether it’s facilitating student assignment research, serving relevant literature for class discussion or clinical case studies, or providing instructional multimedia content to help students connect theory to practice, Nursing & Allied Health Premium delivers a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources.
Regional Business News Provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications.
Social Sciences Full Text This resource provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals. Social Sciences Full Text includes full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
African Journal of Food, Agriculture, Nutrition, and Development
Bakery & Cereals in the United States
Bakery Products, Canned Foods, Cereal, Coffee & Tea, Oils, Sugar and Spices Distributors and Distribution Industry
Bakeries (Including Breads, Cookies, Cakes, Tortillas and Other Baked Goods) and Pasta Manufacturing Industry
Baking management: the production magazine for volume bakers
Bakery production and marketing
Black Book - Restaurant Industry Trends
Cakes & Pastries Industry Profile: United States
Carpathian Journal of Food Science and Technology
CuiZine : the Journal of Canadian Food Cultures
CyTA: Journal of Food
Emerging Europe Food and Drink Insights
Emerging Food R & D Report
Fancy Food & Culinary Products
Food & Agriculture Weekly
Food & Beverage Marketing
Food & Beverage News
Food & Beverage Packaging
Food & Drug Law Weekly
Food & Nutrition Research
Food Service Technology
Food Weekly Focus
Food, Culture, & Society
International Journal of Food and Nutritional Sciences
International Journal of Food Contamination
International Journal of Food Design
International Journal of Food Properties
International Journal of Food Safety, Nutrition, Public Health and Technology
International Journal of Food Science
International Journal of Food Sciences and Nutrition
Irish Journal of Agricultural and Food Research
Italian Journal of Food Safety
Italian Journal of Food Science
Journal of Dairying, Foods & Home Sciences
Journal of Ethnic Foods
Journal of Excipients and Food Chemical
Journal of Food and Nutrition Research
Journal of Food Biochemistry
Journal of Food Distribution Research
Journal of Food Law & Policy
Journal of Food Lipids
Journal of Food Process Engineering
Journal of Food Processing
Journal of Food Processing and Preservation
Journal of Food Protection
Journal of Food Quality
Journal of Food Safety
Journal of Food Science Education
Journal of Food Technology in Africa
Journal of Foodservice
Journal of Medicinal Food
Journal of Medicinal Food Plants
Journal of Muscle Foods
Journal of Nutraceuticals, Functional & Medical Foods
Milling & baking news
Nation’s Restaurant News: The Weekly Newspaper of the Food Service Industry
Nigerian Food Journal
Pakistan Journal of Food Sciences
Polish Journal of Food and Nutrition Sciences
Preventive Nutrition and Food Science
Quality of Life: A Multi-Disciplinary Journal of Food Science, Environmental Science & Public Health
Restaurant & Catering News
Restaurant, Food & Beverage Market Research Handbook
Scandinavian Journal of Food & Nutrition 1992-2005
Scandinavian Journal of Food & Nutrition 2006-2007
Snack & bakery foods
Snack food & wholesale bakery
The African Journal of Food and Nutritional Security
The Food Institute Report
United States Baked Goods Stores Industry Report
United States Bread & Bakery Product Manufacturing Industry Report
The Restaurant and Foodservice Market Research Handbook
Vegetarian Journal’s Foodservice Update
Library search terms
Library of Congress Subject Headings
T - Technology
TP - Chemical Technology
TX - Home Economics/Hospitality
- Cook Books
Bakers and Basques by Mexico City's colorful panaderías (bakeries) have long been vital neighborhood institutions. They were also crucial sites where labor, subsistence, and politics collided. From the 1880s well into the twentieth century, Basque immigrants dominated the bread trade, to the detriment of small Mexican bakers. By taking us inside the panadería, into the heart of bread strikes, and through government halls, Robert Weis reveals why authorities and organized workers supported the so-called Spanish monopoly in ways that countered the promises of law and ideology. He tells the gritty story of how class struggle and the politics of food shaped the state and the market. More than a book about bread, Bakers and Basques places food and labor at the center of the upheavals in Mexican history from independence to the aftermath of the Mexican Revolution.
Call Number: Available Online
Publication Date: 2012-10-01
Breadmaking by The first edition of Breadmaking: Improving quality quickly established itself as an essential purchase for baking professionals and researchers in this area. With comprehensively updated and revised coverage, including six new chapters, the second edition helps readers to understand the latest developments in bread making science and practice. The book opens with two introductory chapters providing an overview of the breadmaking process. Part one focuses on the impacts of wheat and flour quality on bread, covering topics such as wheat chemistry, wheat starch structure, grain quality assessment, milling and wheat breeding. Part two covers dough development and bread ingredients, with chapters on dough aeration and rheology, the use of redox agents and enzymes in breadmaking and water control, among other topics. In part three, the focus shifts to bread sensory quality, shelf life and safety. Topics covered include bread aroma, staling and contamination. Finally, part four looks at particular bread products such as high fibre breads, those made from partially baked and frozen dough and those made from non-wheat flours. With its distinguished editor and international team of contributors, the second edition of Breadmaking: Improving quality is a standard reference for researchers and professionals in the bread industry and all those involved in academic research on breadmaking science and practice. With comprehensively updated and revised coverage, this second edition outlines the latest developments in breadmaking science and practice Covers topics such as wheat chemistry, wheat starch structure, grain quality assessment, milling and wheat breeding Discusses dough development and bread ingredients, with chapters on dough aeration and rheology
Call Number: Available Online
Publication Date: 2012-04-25
Flour and Breads and Their Fortification in Health and Disease Prevention by Bread and flour-based foods are an important part of the diet for millions of people worldwide. Their complex nature provides energy, protein, minerals and many other macro- and micronutrients. However, consideration must be taken of three major aspects related to flour and bread. The first is that not all cultures consume bread made from wheat flour. There are literally dozens of flour types, each with their distinctive heritage, cultural roles and nutritive contents. Second, not all flours are used to make leavened bread in the traditional (i.e., Western) loaf form. There are many different ways that flours are used in the production of staple foods. Third, flour and breads provide a suitable means for fortification: either to add components that are removed in the milling and purification process or to add components that will increase palatability or promote health and reduce disease per se. Flour and Breads and their Fortification in Health and Disease Prevention provides a single-volume reference to the healthful benefits of a variety of flours and flour products, and guides the reader in identifying options and opportunities for improving health through flour and fortified flour products. Examines those flour and bread related agents that affect metabolism and other health-related conditions Explores the impact of compositional differences between flours, including differences based on country of origin and processing technique Includes methods for analysis of flours and bread-related compounds in other foods
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2011-02-17
Against the Grain by The definitive handbook on gluten-free baking--with revolutionary recipes made from whole-foods, no fakes or chemicals required --from the owner of Against the Grain Gourmet, the popular line of all-natural gluten-free baked goods. Revolutionary all-natural recipes for gluten-free cooking--from the owner of Against the Grain Gourmet. Nancy Cain came to gluten-free cooking simply enough- Her teenage son was diagnosed with celiac disease. After trying ready-made baking mixes and finding the results rubbery and tasteless, she pioneered gluten-free foods made entirely from natural ingredients--no xanthan or guar gums or other mystery chemical additives allowed. That led her to adapt many of her family's favorite recipes, including their beloved pizzas, pastas, and more, to this real food technique. In Against the Grain, Nancy finally shares 200 groundbreaking recipes for achieving airy, crisp breads, delicious baked goods, and gluten-free main dishes. For any of these cookies, cakes, pies, sandwiches, and casseroles, you use only natural ingredients such as buckwheat flour, brown rice flour, and ripe fruits and vegetables. Whether you're making Potato Rosemary Bread, iced Red Velvet Cupcakes, Lemon-Thyme-Summer Squash Ravioli, or Rainbow Chard and Kalamata Olive Pizza, you'll be able to use ingredients already in your pantry or easily found at your local supermarket. With ample information for gluten-free beginners and 100 colorful photographs, this book is a game changer for gluten-free households everywhere.
Call Number: RM237.86 .C33 2015
Publication Date: 2015-02-03
Baking and Pastry by Baking and Pastry, Third Edition continues its reputation as being a must-have guide for all culinary and baking and pastry students and baking and pastry industry professionals. This new edition improves upon the last with the addition of hundreds of new recipes and photographs, and revised, up-to-date information on creating spectacular pastries, desserts, and breads. New content includes sustainability and seasonality, new trends in plated desserts and wedding and special occasion cakes, and more information on savory and breakfast pastries, volume production, and decor techniques.
Call Number: TX763 .B3234 2016
Publication Date: 2015-02-25
Betty Crocker the Big Book of Bread by Nothing is more basic or more versatile than bread. From a white loaf to quick-to-make muffins, bread is a well-loved staple.The Big Book of Bread is a complete resource for both new and experienced cooks, with more than 200 recipes and 100 color photos. New bakers will find clear and easy-to-follow instructions, tips, techniques, and how-to photos to bake a range of breads, from classic yeast breads to friendly quick breads. More experienced bakers will enjoy new flavors and techniques to add to their repertoire. This one-stop bread book will delight and encourage bakers of all levels of experience, with recipes for artisanal breads, no-knead breads, coffee cakes, scones, gluten-free recipes, bread machine recipes, pizza dough, and more.
Call Number: TX769 .C736 2013
Publication Date: 2013-11-05
Bread Illustrated by In this comprehensive cookbook, America's Test Kitchen breaks down the often intimidating art and science of bread baking, making it easy for anyone to create foolproof, bakery-quality breads at home. Many home cooks find bread baking rewarding but intimidating. In Bread Illustrated, America's Test Kitchen shows bakers of all levels how to make foolproof breads, rolls, flatbreads, and more at home. Each of the 100 master recipes is presented as a hands-on and reassuring tutorial illustrated with six to 24 full-color step-by-step photos. Organized by level of difficulty to make bread baking less daunting, the book progresses from the simplest recipes for the novice baker to bakery-style artisan loaves, breads that use starters, and more complex project recipes. The recipes cover a wide and exciting range of breads from basics and classics like Easy Sandwich Bread and Fluffy Dinner Rolls to interesting breads from around the world including Chapati, Panettone, and Fig and Fennel Batard.
Call Number: TX769 .B77274 2016
Publication Date: 2016-09-06
Finding the Flavors We Lost by The multiple-James Beard Award--winning restaurant critic for Los Angeles Magazine delivers an arresting exploration of our cultural demand for "artisanal" foods in a world dominated by corporate agribusiness. We hear the word "artisanal" all the time--attached to cheese, chocolate, coffee, even fast-food chain sandwiches--but what does it actually mean? We take "farm to table" and "handcrafted food" for granted now but how did we get here? In Finding the Flavors We Lost, acclaimed food writer Patric Kuh profiles major figures in the so-called "artisanal" food movement who brought exceptional taste back to food and inspired chefs and restaurateurs to redefine and rethink the way we eat. Kuh begins by narrating the entertaining stories of countercultural "radicals" who taught themselves the forgotten crafts of bread, cheese, and beer-making in reaction to the ever-present marketing of bland, mass-produced food, and how these people became the inspiration for today's crop of young chefs and artisans. Kuh examines how a rediscovery of the value of craft and individual effort has fueled today's popularity and appreciation for artisanal food and the transformations this has effected on both the restaurant menu and the dinner table. Throughout the book, he raises a host of critical questions. How big of an operation is too big for a food company to still call themselves "artisanal"? Does the high cost of handcrafted goods unintentionally make them unaffordable for many Americans? Does technological progress have to quash flavor? Eye-opening, informative, and entertaining, Finding the Flavors We Lost is a fresh look into the culture of artisan food as we know it today--and what its future may be.
Call Number: TX633 .K84 2016
Publication Date: 2016-06-21
Flour Water Salt Yeast by NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * From Portland's most acclaimed and beloved baker comes this must-have baking guide, featuring recipes for world-class breads and pizzas and a variety of schedules suited for the home baker. There are few things more satisfying than biting into a freshly made, crispy-on-the-outside, soft-and-supple-on-the-inside slice of perfectly baked bread. For Portland-based baker Ken Forkish, well-made bread is more than just a pleasure--it is a passion that has led him to create some of the best and most critically lauded breads and pizzas in the country. In Flour Water Salt Yeast, Forkish translates his obsessively honed craft into scores of recipes for rustic boules and Neapolitan-style pizzas, all suited for the home baker. Forkish developed and tested all of the recipes in his home oven, and his impeccable formulas and clear instructions result in top-quality artisan breads and pizzas that stand up against those sold in the best bakeries anywhere. Whether you're a total beginner or a serious baker, Flour Water Salt Yeast has a recipe that suits your skill level and time constraints: Start with a straight dough and have fresh bread ready by supper time, or explore pre-ferments with a bread that uses biga or poolish. If you're ready to take your baking to the next level, follow Forkish's step-by-step guide to making a levain starter with only flour and water, and be amazed by the delicious complexity of your naturally leavened bread. Pizza lovers can experiment with a variety of doughs and sauces to create the perfect pie using either a pizza stone or a cast-iron skillet. Flour Water Salt Yeast is more than just a collection of recipes for amazing bread and pizza--it offers a complete baking education, with a thorough yet accessible explanation of the tools and techniques that set artisan bread apart. Featuring a tutorial on baker's percentages, advice for manipulating ingredients ratios to create custom doughs, tips for adapting bread baking schedules to fit your day-to-day life, and an entire chapter that demystifies the levain-making process, Flour Water Salt Yeast is an indispensable resource for bakers who want to make their daily bread exceptional bread.
Call Number: TX769 .F67 2012
Publication Date: 2012-09-18
The Fundamental Techniques of Classic Pastry Arts by An indispensable addition to any serious home baker's library, The Fundamental Techniques of Classic Pastry Arts covers the many skills an aspiring pastry chef must master. Based on the internationally lauded curriculum developed by master pâtissier Jacques Torres for New York's French Culinary Institute, the book presents chapters on every classic category of confection: tarts, cream puffs, puff pastry, creams and custards, breads and pastries, cakes, and petits fours. Each chapter begins with an overview of the required techniques, followed by dozens of recipes--many the original creations of distinguished FCI graduates. Each recipe even includes a checklist to help you evaluate your success as measured against professional standards of perfection! Distilling ten years of trial and error in teaching students, The Fundamental Techniques of Classic Pastry Arts is a comprehensive reference with hundreds of color photographs, a wealth of insider tips, and highly detailed information on tools and ingredients--quite simply the most valuable baking book you can own.
Call Number: TX773 .C5258
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
The Harvest Baker by Let them eat cake -- and vegetables, too! Award-winning cookbook author Ken Haedrich serves up 150 delicious baked goods that are full of fresh fruits, vegetables, and herbs and go far beyond zucchini bread and carrot cake. From Bacon, Cheddar, and Fresh Corn Muffins to Fresh Fennel and Italian Sausage Pizza, Spaghetti Squash and Parmesan Quiche, and Brown Sugar Rhubarb Tart Squares, these scrumptious recipes add nutrition plus amazing flavor to every meal of the day. The breadth of this collection is stunning, and you'll be amazed that baked goods this tasty also deliver your daily dose of fresh vegetables.
Call Number: TX769 .H226 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-27
How to Bake Everything by In the most comprehensive book of its kind, Mark Bittman offers the ultimate baker's resource. Finally, here is the simplest way to bake everything, from American favorites (Crunchy Toffee Cookies, Baked Alaska) to of-the-moment updates (Gingerbread Whoopie Pies). It explores global baking, too: Nordic ruis, New Orleans beignets, Afghan snowshoe naan. The recipes satisfy every flavor craving thanks to more than 2,000 recipes and variations: a pound cake can incorporate polenta, yogurt, ricotta, citrus, hazelnuts, ginger, and more. New bakers will appreciate Bittman's opinionated advice on essential equipment and ingredient substitutions, plus extensive technique illustrations. The pros will find their creativity unleashed with guidance on how to adapt recipes to become vegan, incorporate new grains, improvise tarts, or create customized icebox cakes using a mix-and-match chart. Demystified, deconstructed, and debunked--baking is simpler and more flexible than youever imagined.
Call Number: TX763 .B525 2016
Publication Date: 2016-10-04
Maison Kayser's French Pastry Workshop by From festive creations to simple but sophisticated fare, chef Eric Kayser will not only provide his recipes but the expert insight you need to replicate his delectable creations. The more than 70 recipes include his bakery bestsellers, including raspberry macaroons, lemon curd meringue tartlets, epiphany cake, Yule logs, financiers, chocolate and hazelnut tarts, among others. Hundreds of photos show the beautiful pastries, and provide step-by-step instructions for anything tricky. A pictogram system helps readers distinguish the recipe's level of difficulty.
Call Number: TX773 .K35213 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-12
The New Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day by The New Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day is a fully revised and updated edition of the bestselling, ground-breaking, and revolutionary approach to bread-making--a perfect gift for foodies and bakers! With more than half a million copies of their books in print, Jeff Hertzberg and Zoë François have proven that people want to bake their own bread, so long as they can do it easily and quickly. Based on fan feedback, Jeff and Zoë have completely revamped their first, most popular, and now-classic book, Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. Responding to their thousands of ardent fans, Jeff and Zoë returned to their test kitchens to whip up more delicious baking recipes. They've also included a gluten-free chapter, forty all-new gorgeous color photos, and one hundred informative black-and-white how-to photos. They've made the "Tips and Techniques" and "Ingredients" chapters bigger and better than ever before, and included readers' Frequently Asked Questions. This revised edition also includes more than thirty brand-new recipes for Beer-Cheese Bread, Crock-Pot Bread, Panini, Pretzel Buns, Apple-Stuffed French Toast, and many more. There's nothing like the smell of freshly baked bread to fill a kitchen with warmth, eager appetites, and endless praise. Now, using Jeff and Zoë's innovative technique, you can create bread that rivals those of the finest bakers in the world in just five minutes of active preparation time.
Call Number: TX769 .H474 2013
Publication Date: 2013-10-22
The New Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day by The New Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day is a fully revised and updated edition of the bestselling cookbook featuring the quick and easy way to make nutritious whole grain artisan bread--a perfect gift for foodies and bakers! Jeff Hertzberg and Zoë François shocked the baking world when they proved that homemade yeast dough could be stored in the refrigerator to use whenever you need it, and they adapted the method for whole grains in Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day. Now, in this updated second edition, they've done it again, showcasing whole grains and heirloom flours like spelt, sprouted wheat, and khorasan. Also new in this edition is a super-fast natural sourdough, weight equivalents for every dough recipe, and intriguing new oils like coconut, avocado, grapeseed, and flaxseed. The New Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day has 33 new recipes as well as old favorites, including 100% Whole Wheat Bread, Whole Grain Garlic Knots with Parsley and Olive Oil, Whole Grain Crock Pot Bread, Rosemary Flax Baguette, Cinnamon-Raisin Whole Wheat Bagels, Pumpkin Pie Brioche, Raisin Buns, Challah, Whole Wheat Soft Pretzels, gluten-free breads, and many more. With over a half-million copies in print, the Bread in Five series is the quick and easy way to create healthy breads that rival those of the finest bakeries in the world--with just five minutes a day of active preparation time.
Call Number: TX769 .H476 2016
Publication Date: 2016-11-01
The New Way to Cake by Beautiful, of-the-moment cakes are easy to create with Benjamina's professional tricks and streamlined baking process. After receiving countless accolades as a finalist on The Great British Baking Show, Benjamina is sharing her tricks of the trade with readers. Drawing inspiration from her Nigerian heritage, and her life in multi-cultural London, these gorgeous cakes are packed with exquisite flavor. Each recipe is perfectly composed to include a short list of key ingredients, making it quick and easy to bake stunning, occasion worthy desserts. New bakers will get the basics on layer cakes, bundts, loaves and more, while experienced bakers will learn to infuse their cakes with amazing flavor. Fresh fruits, aromatic herbs, toasted nuts and enticing spices make for irresistible, unexpected, combinations such as the Caramelized Plantain Cake, the Coconut, Raspberry and Rose Roulade, and the Prosecco, Mint and Ginger Cake. Rather than heavy layers of buttercream, these cakes take a trendy, minimalist approach to decoration. Readers will learn to use light glazes, artful frosting, fruit and nuts to add contemporary flair to irresistible bakes. From the Salted Chocolate and Praline Cake to the Turmeric Milk Bundt, these singular creations will impress at any party, family gathering or holiday. This book will have 60 recipes and 60 photos.
Call Number: TX771 .E2054 2019
Publication Date: 2019-11-05
The Oxford Companion to Sugar and Sweets by A sweet tooth is a powerful thing. Babies everywhere seem to smile when tasting sweetness for the first time, a trait inherited, perhaps, from our ancestors who foraged for sweet foods that were generally safer to eat than their bitter counterparts. But the "science of sweet" is only thebeginning of a fascinating story, because it is not basic human need or simple biological impulse that prompts us to decorate elaborate wedding cakes, scoop ice cream into a cone, or drop sugar cubes into coffee. These are matters of culture and aesthetics, of history and society, and we might askmany other questions. Why do sweets feature so prominently in children's literature? When was sugar called a spice? And how did chocolate evolve from an ancient drink to a modern candy bar?The Oxford Companion to Sugar and Sweets explores these questions and more through the collective knowledge of 265 expert contributors, from food historians to chemists, restaurateurs to cookbook writers, neuroscientists to pastry chefs. The Companion takes readers around the globe and throughouttime, affording glimpses deep into the brain as well as stratospheric flights into the world of sugar-crafted fantasies. More than just a compendium of pastries, candies, ices, preserves, and confections, this reference work reveals how the human proclivity for sweet has brought richness to ourlanguage, our art, and, of course, our gastronomy. In nearly 600 entries, beginning with "a la mode" and ending with the Italian trifle known as "zuppa inglese," the Companion traces sugar's journey from a rare luxury to a ubiquitous commodity. In between, readers will learn about numeroussweeteners (as well-known as agave nectar and as obscure as castoreum, or beaver extract), the evolution of the dessert course, the production of chocolate, and the neurological, psychological, and cultural responses to sweetness. The Companion also delves into the darker side of sugar, from itsties to colonialism and slavery to its addictive qualities.Celebrating sugar while acknowledging its complex history, The Oxford Companion to Sugar and Sweets is the definitive guide to one of humankind's greatest sources of pleasure. Like kids in a candy shop, fans of sugar (and aren't we all?) will enjoy perusing the wondrous variety to be found in thisvolume.
Call Number: TP421 .O94 2015
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
Professional Cake Decorating by Cake Decorating is a required course in the Baking and Pastry curriculum offered in proprietary colleges and two-year community colleges. Baking and pastry students take this course typically in the second year of their curriculum. Gisslen's Professional Baking, 3e serves the needs of the fundamental baking course. However, in Baking and Pastry programs, students are more focused on decorating and design. This underscores the need for a book with complete and detailed instructions on decorating methods and techniques.
Call Number: TX771.2 .G36 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-24
Sweet Invention by A social, cultural, and--above all--culinary history of dessert, Sweet Invention explores the world's great dessert traditions, from ancient India to 21st-century Indiana. Each chapter begins with author Michael Krondl tasting and analyzing an icon of dessert, such as baklava from the Middle East or macarons from France, and then combines extensive scholarship with a lively writing style to spin an ancient tale of some of the world's favorite treats and their creators. From the sweet makers of Persia who gave us the first donuts to the sugar sculptors of Renaissance Italy whose creativity gave rise to the modern-day wedding cake, this authoritative read clears up numerous misconceptions about the origins of various desserts, while elucidating their social, political, religious--and even sexual--uses through the ages.
Call Number: TX773 .K7154 2011
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Wild Honey and Rye by Food writer and blogger Ren Behan takes us on a journey to discover the new tastes of her beloved culinary heritage. The food of Eastern Europe, long misunderstood in the West, is changing--the focus is swinging away from heavy dumplings and stews towards lighter, healthier, fresh and seasonal recipes, served in contemporary ways. In this beautiful collection of recipes, Ren brings us the very best of the Polish kitchen, inspired both by the food of her childhood and by the new wave of flavors to be found in the trendy restaurants, cafes and farmers markets of modern Poland. Alternative grains, such as rye, spelt, buckwheat and millet make an appearance in risottos, as do fresh fruit preserves and pickles, infused honeys, seasonal and raw salads, light broths, delicious cakes and flavored liqueurs. No book on Polish food would be complete without pierogi, the classic dumplings, and of course they are here, with other substantial dishes such as meatballs, goulash and cutlets, as you might expect, but you will also see them in a new light--filled with strawberries and served with honey and pistachios. Pink sauerkraut adorns vegan pastry rolls, ribs are slowly-braised with honey and vodka, a fresh cucumber salad with sour cream and dill sets off a homely dish of meatballs, and Polish charcuterie sits atop the darkest rye bread. An evocative and inspiring collection of recipes, which truly celebrates all the good things the food of Poland has to offer, and which will leave your mouth watering. * Challenge your preconceptions and fall in love with the healthy Polish kitchen * Classic Polish cooking updated for contemporary tastes * 100 modern recipes featuring fresh, seasonal, healthy home cooking
Call Number: TX723.5.P55 B34 2018
Publication Date: 2018-07-01
The Allergy-Free Pantry by Make your own affordable, delicious, and allergy-free staples, snacks, and meals! After the cupboards are cleared of problem foods, most people coping with new food allergies (their own or their kids') are missing staples they have relied on for years. And even though stores are stocking more allergen-free brands, shoppers with severe or multiple allergies can read every label and still strike out--especially if they're after a particular craving or on a budget. The good news for the 15 million Americans with food allergies is that classic treats and pantry staples can be made easily and affordably at home. From Colette Martin, the author of Learning to Bake Allergen-Free, comes The Allergy-Free Pantry--with over 100 recipes free of gluten and the top eight allergens (milk, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts, soy, wheat, fish, and shellfish), for: Basic staples (flour blends, non-dairy milks, egg replacers, Sandwich Bread, Biscuits, Strawberry Jam, Sunflower Seed Butter) Condiments and salad dressings (Flaxseed Mayonnaise, Ketchup, Ranch Dressing, Barbeque Sauce) Breakfast (Pancakes, Honey Blueberry Granola, Apple Oatmeal Scones) Crackers and cookies (Flax Crackers, Pita Chips, Chocolate Chip Cookies, Snickerdoodles) Pasta, pizza, and freezer meals (Spinach Pasta, Cheesy Sauce, Shepherd's Pie, Meatloaf) Desserts (Brownie Bites, Chocolate Pudding, Raspberry Fruit Roll Ups, Caramel Sauce) Full-color photographs of every recipe and simple instructions (no advanced kitchen skills required!) make this a must-have guide to allergy-free home cooking. Refill your cupboards, and reclaim peace of mind!
Call Number: RC588.D53 M368 2014
Publication Date: 2014-09-09
Alternative Baker by While most gluten-free baking cookbooks simply replace all-purpose wheat flour, usually with white rice, tapioca and potato flours, this book celebrates the wide array of grains, nuts and seeds that add unique texture and flavor to desserts. Recipes oust hard-to-find gums, such as guar and xanthan, and minimise starches, such as corn, tapioca and potato. Alternative Baker highlights lesser-known flours such as millet, oat, buckwheat, chestnut, sorghum and mesquite. These flours provide recipe with superior texture, flavor and nutritional value to boot. Alternative Baker features fruit-based recipes that range from breakfast breads to pies, tarts, crisps, cobblers, cakes, custards and small treats like cookies and bars. Examples include Cranberry Millet Scones with Vanilla Bean Glaze; Buckwheat, Pear & Walnut Galettes with Salty Honey Caramel; Salty Caramel & Banana Cream Tarts in a Mesquite Crust and Maple Bourbon Peach Cobbler with Brown Butter Biscuits. In addition, the book includes recipes for basics like sauces and accompaniments. Author Alanna Taylor-Tobin is a classically trained pastry chef who has been developing recipes and techniques for her own gluten sensitivity for more than a decade. Her love of alternative, unrefined flours, sweeteners and organic produce is a product of her upbringing by health-nut hippie parents.
Call Number: TX773 .T384 2016
Publication Date: 2016-09-13
The Art of French Pastry by Winner ofnbsp; the 2014 James Beard Award for Best Cookbook, Dessert & Baking What does it take to perfect a flawlessnbsp;éclair? A delicate yet buttery croissant? To pipe dozens of macarons? The answer is: an intimate knowledge of the fundamentals of pastry. Innbsp;The Art of French Pastrynbsp;award-winning pastry chef Jacquy Pfeiffer, cofounder of the renowned French Pastry School in Chicago, gives you just that. By teaching you how to make everything from pâte à choux to pastry cream, Pfeiffer builds on the basics until you have an understanding of the science behind the ingredients used, how they interact with one another, and what your hands have to do to transform them into pastry. This yields glorious results!nbsp;Expect to master these techniques and then indulge in exquisite recipes, such as: nbsp; ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;brioche ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;napoléons / Mille-Feuilles ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;cream puffs ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;Alsatian cinnamon rolls / chinois ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;lemon cream tart with meringue teardrops ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;elephant ears / palmiers ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;black forest cake ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;beignets nbsp; as well as some traditional Alsatian savory treats, including: nbsp; ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Pretzels ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Kougelhof ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Tarte Flambée ·nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Warm Alsatian Meat Pie nbsp; Pastry is all about precision, so Pfeiffer presents us with an amazing wealth of information--lists of necessary equipment, charts on how ingredients react in different environments, and the precise weight of ingredients in grams, with a look at their equivalent in U.S. units--which will help you in all aspects of your cooking. But in order to properly enjoy your "just desserts," so to speak; you will also learn where these delicacies originated. Jacquy Pfeiffer comes from a long line of pastry chefs and has been making these recipes since he was a child working in his father's bakery in Alsace. Sprinkled with funny, charming memories from a lifetime in pastry, this book will have you fully appreciating the hundreds of years of tradition that shaped these recipes into the classics that we know and love, and can now serve to our friends and families over and over again. The Art of French Pastry,nbsp;full of gorgeous photography andnbsp;Pfeiffer's accompanying illustrations, is a master class in pastry from a master teacher.
Call Number: TX773 .P468 2013
Publication Date: 2013-12-03
The Baker Illustrated Bible Dictionary by In the pages of the Bible, we come to know God through Jesus Christ. Thus the importance of the Bible for our spiritual formation cannot be overstated. If we are honest, though, the Bible is not always easy to understand. For example, the places named in the Bible can seem strange, and the number of people mentioned is virtually countless. This comprehensive dictionary intends to help people read the Bible with increased understanding and confidence. It contains articles on major topics as well as places and people, even if they just appear in a single verse in the Bible. Its articles cover theological topics, biblical words, biblical imagery, and historical topics. This A to Z dictionary includes more than -1,700 full-color pages -400 color illustrations, maps, and photos -5,000 articles by leading evangelical scholars The Baker Illustrated Bible Dictionary is an informative, colorful, and easy-to-understand resource that will be an indispensable reference for your own personal study or in preparation for teaching.
Call Number: BS440 .L66 2013
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
Bakery Design by The baking industry has seen a developing momentum in recent years. The competition is stiff; it's not just the quality of the food that attracts customers, so it's often necessary to ensure the design of the bakery itself is both creative and eye catching, while still being functional. A well-designed store can not only increase sales, but also help develop a brand identity. This book includes fifty bakery designs from all over the world. The designers responsible exhaustively examine their projects in order to illustrate the design process. AUTHOR: Athanasios Tzokas was born in Kalamata (Greece) in 1980, growing up in his father's architectural office. At the age of 18 he enrolled at the d'Annuzio University of Pescara in Italy, where he graduated with honors in 2006. After returning to Greece and completing his military service, he took over the management of his father's architectural office. His professional field covers all areas of architecture, from interiors to building design, large residential complexes, as well as graphics and logos design.
Call Number: NK2195.B34 T96 2019
Publication Date: 2019-07-30
Baking as Biography by Hidden among the simple lists of ingredients and directions for everyday foods are surprising stories. In Baking as Biography, Diane Tye considers her mother's recipe collection, reading between the lines of the aging index cards to provide a candid and nuanced portrait of one woman's life as mother, minister's wife, and participant in local Maritime women's networks.
Call Number: Available at other SUNY Schools
Publication Date: 2010-08-10
Baking with the Cake Boss by Designed to be used by beginners and seasoned bakers alike Baking with the Cake Boss is a cookbook that guides the reader from the simplest butter cookies to magnificent themed, holiday, and wedding cakes, in his characteristic style full of enthusiasm and passion, and super-supportive of the reader's ability to replicate his baked goods and cakes at home. He starts with a few general notes and directions about basic baking skills, to be cross-referenced by the text (scaling and mixing, rolling, piping, etc.), and then moves on to recipes (which have personal stories woven throughout). It will include 70 decorating styles and recipes all together.
Call Number: TX771 .V335 2011
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Becoming a Baker by An illuminating guide to a career as a baker, written by acclaimed journalist Glynnis MacNicol and based on the real-life experiences of an expert in the field--essential reading for someone considering a path to this challenging, yet rewarding profession. Go behind the scenes and be mentored by the best to find out what it's really like, and what it really takes, to become a baker. Esteemed journalist Glynnis MacNicol takes readers to the front counters of bakeries and cafes to offer a candid portrait of modern baking. MacNicol shadows Mary Louise Clemens, the owner and head baker of Ladybird Bakery in Brooklyn, to reveal how bakers work and how they stand out in a neighborhood, community, and city. In Becoming a Baker, MacNicol reveals the path to becoming a baker, from education to the creation of new recipes, from negotiating with suppliers to the possibility of opening a small business. Prepare the legendary "Brooklyn Blackout" cupcakes in Ladybird's kitchen, shape croissants at the beloved Sea Wolf Bakery in Seattle, and learn why bakers think the Great British Bake-Off has captured our collective imagination. As the food industry changes to meet the 21st century, the role of a baker is becoming more and more central to our lives. For those passionate about nourishment, working with your hands, and the place of locally-owned businesses in communities, this is the most valuable informational interview you'll ever have--required reading for anyone considering this career.
Call Number: 9781982120276
Publication Date: 2019-09-03
Cook's Illustrated Baking Book by Baking demystified with 450 foolproof recipes from Cook's Illustrated, America's most trusted food magazine. The Cook's Illustrated Baking Book has it all--definitive recipes for all your favorite cookies, cakes, pies, tarts, breads, pizza, and more, along with kitchen-tested techniques that will transform your baking. Recipes range from easy (drop cookies and no-knead bread) to more ambitious (authentic croissants and dacquoise) and the trademark test kitchen expertise shines through each one. Discover why spreading the dough and then sprinkling the berries leads to better Blueberry Scones, why cubed versus shredded extra-sharp cheddar cheese makes all the difference in our irresistible Cheese Bread, how we found three ways to squeeze more lemon flavor into our Lemon Bundt Cake, and how to keep the best Buttermilk Waffles your family will ever taste warm and crispy. An illustrated Baking Basics chapter at the front of the book provides information on key ingredients and equipment and lays the groundwork for a lifetime of baking success. A shopping guide at the back recommends our favorite brands. The recipes in this book represent all the wisdom of the bakers that came before us as well as all we've learned through literally thousands of trial-and-error sessions in our kitchens.
Call Number: TX765 .C634 2013
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
From No-Knead to Sourdough by Create delicious, healthy breads in your own kitchen - no experience required Is there any food that evokes pleasant memories and warm feelings more than bread? It's the most basic of foods, yet many of us are intimidated by the prospect of making our own. "Artisan" bread, craft bakeries, and wood-fired pizza are gaining popularity -- imagine creating these fabulous breads at home. With From No-Knead to Sourdough, author Victoria Redhed Miller blends her own journey toward self-reliance with her fascination for traditional homesteading skills and love of good food. From making simple yeast breads, to learning how to bake a wide variety of sourdough-based breads, the author's curiosity and fearlessness come together to share with readers a simpler approach to the pleasures of bread-baking. Topics include: Fitting bread-baking into your schedule Low- and no-gluten baking, including GF sourdough breads Using a wood-fired oven Recipes for every comfort zone, from flatbread to sourdough "Sexy science talk" sidebars for those interested in the science of baking. From No-Knead to Sourdough will inspire the beginner and the accomplished baker alike to find their own comfort zone and move on to new skills when they are ready. Pizza and bagels, flatbreads and loaf breads, even gluten-free breads -- you become the artisan when you make your own bread.
Call Number: TX769 .M556 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-26
Gluten-Free Wish List by Finally, a cookbook that includes gluten-free recipes for pizza crust, bagels, and all of the other wheat-laden staples folks miss most after eliminating gluten from their diets. Here author Jeanne Sauvage proves that gluten-free should never be anything less than delicious. Whether diagnosed as celiac, living with gluten and wheat intolerances, or simply adhering to a healthier diet, anyone can enjoy each and every one of the 100 mouthwatering creations found here--from sweet treats like waffles, doughnuts, and chocolate chip cookies to savory favorites such as sourdough baguettes, ramen noodles, and fried chicken. For beginning home cooks and seasoned chefs alike, this reference will be the cornerstone of every gluten-free kitchen.
Call Number: RM237.86 .S284 2015
Publication Date: 2015-10-20
The Kosher Baker by Producing flavorful and appealing kosher desserts has been a challenge in Jewish households throughout the ages. Without access to butter, cream, milk, cheese, yogurt, or other dairy products, creating a tasty and memorable dessert for family and friends requires more than simple substitutions and compromises. Now pastry chef and teacher Paula Shoyer provides the inspiration and innovation to turn the age-old challenges of parve baking into delectable delights in her one-of-a-kind kosher cookbook. The Kosher Baker is your indispensable kitchen companion to a wide range of dairy-free desserts, from family favorites and time-honored holiday classics to stylish and delicious surprises of Shoyer’s own careful creation. It even includes desserts not usually found on a kosher table, such as creamy key lime pie, luscious flan, and rich tiramisu. You’ll find everything from cookies, biscotti, breads and muffins to pastries, tarts, fancy cakes, and mousses. Shoyer guides you through more than 160 mouth-watering recipes and expands every non-dairy baker’s repertoire with simple, clear instructions and a friendly yet authoritative voice. The Kosher Baker is organized as a tutorial into three primary sections—Quick and Elegant Desserts, Two Step Desserts, and Multiple Step Desserts—allowing the busy home baker to choose a dessert based on both taste and time constraints. The first section presents the fundamentals of simple kosher baking in the form of everyday treats like Amaretto Cookies, Orange Tea Cake, and Apple Pastry. The next two sections teach increasingly more challenging desserts, from a Challah Beer Bread Pudding with Caramel Sauce to Chocolate Babka. A special fourth section includes chapters on baking Challah, Passover desserts, and no-sugar-added desserts. The Kosher Baker has something for everyone in the Jewish household for any occasion or holiday. It spills over with detailed information, including tips on storage, freezing, and thawing; tools; must-have ingredients; and tips and techniques. Anyone baking for those with special dietary needs such as food allergies or diabetic concerns will also find recipes to love in this comprehensive collection. It even includes recipes for nut- and gluten-free desserts, and vegan desserts. No Jewish home should be without this essential cookbook!
Call Number: Available through other SUNY Schools
Publication Date: 2010-09-14
Perfect Cake by Gathering together years of baking knowledge in their first-ever cake book, America's Test Kitchen offers a comprehensive collection of recipes for any cake you can imagine--from better-than-the-rest yellow cake layers for birthday parties to fanciful creations and elegant holiday desserts. Cakes are the ultimate all-occasion dessert. Whether you are looking for a party-worthy cake that's sure to bring smiles or a rustic treat for any time, America's Test Kitchen has the perfect recipe in this definitive guide to cake baking. The Perfect Cake opens with a valuable chapter of mix-and-match layer cakes, frostings, and fillings, allowing anyone to find just the combination they're looking for. The following chapters traverse a range of styles, touching on easy crowd-pleasers, sky-high stunners, American classics, holiday cakes, charming minature cakes, and more. Rigorously tested to ensure the perfect outcome, these never-fail recipes will improve any baker's game, from White Cake Layers with an ultradowny crumb to a perfectly domed Pound Cake, a New York Cheesecake with a browned surface (and no cracks), and superlatively chocolaty Ultimate Chocolate Cupcakes. Discover new techniques and flavors with a Blueberry Jam Cake frosted in a stunning ombre pattern, a sweet-salty Chocolate-Caramel Layer Cake, and a naked-sided Blackberry-Lemon Mascarpone Cake. And as only the test kitchen can, we fill the book with insight on everything from batter mixing methods to slicing cakes into multiple even layers. The Table of Contents- Introduction Chapter 1- Build-a-Cake- Mix-and-Match Layers and Frostings Chapter 2- Cupcakes, Cake Pops, Mug Cakes, and More Chapter 3- Crowd-Pleasing Sheet Cakes Chapter 4- Sky-High Cakes Chapter 5- Elegant Cakes and Tortes Chapter 6- Great American Cakes Chapter 7- Celebrate! Holiday Cakes Chapter 8- Snack Cakes and Rustic Fruit Cakes Chapter 9- Pound Cakes, Bundt Cakes and Tube Cakes Chapter 10- Cool Down- Cheesecakes, Ice Cream, and Icebox
Call Number: TX771 .P43 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-27
- Library Instruction and Information Literacy - Professors
- Research Appointments - Students
- Library Chat Service/ASK US 24/7
- Embedded Librarian Service - Professors
|call the library: