LibGuides: Vision Care Technology: Transcultural Health Care

Transcultural Health - Websites

EthnoMed EthnoMed contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and related topics pertinent to the health care of immigrants to the US, many of whom are refugees fleeing war-torn parts of the world.
Office of Minority Health - U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services The mission of the Office of Minority Health (OMH) is to improve and protect the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will eliminate health disparities.
MedlinePlus Health Information in Multiple Languages by Health Topic Use the trusted resources at MedlinePlus to browse health information in multiple languages, arranged by health topic.
MedlinePlus Health Information in Multiple Languages Use the trusted resources at MedlinePlus to browse health information in multiple languages, arranged by language.
National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC) - Georgetown University NCCC Seeks to increase the capacity of health care & mental health care programs to design, implement, and evaluate culturally and linguistically competent service delivery systems to address growing diversity, persistent disparities, and to promote health & mental health equity.

Transcultural Health - Reference Resources

The desire for health and well-being extends through all cultures. However, differences between cultures may create obstacles that hinder communication and perception. These resources are designed to assist health care providers and patients with overcomming these obstacles.

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, ed. 3 (2014)
This work includes 23 new ethnic groups and contains 152 revised ethnic entries on specific minority groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life, ed. 3 (2017)
Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.
ASCO Guidelines for Culturally Competent Eye and Vision Care
The Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry (ASCO) Diversity Task Force produced this document as an adaptation of best practices from schools, colleges, organizations, and associations of the health professions.
“Cultural and Linguistic Competence” by Y.K. Gary Chu, OD, MPH and Tawara Goode, MA
This is a chapter excerpted from the electronic book Optometric Care within the Public Health Community edited by Stanley Hatch, et al. Old Post Publishing, NY, 2009.

Related Research Guide