Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's the job outlook for Educators?
Here are links to websites with information about teaching, the study of teaching.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, etc. (E-Book form)
These reference sources can be found in our database collection under the titles Gale Virtual Reference Library and Credo Reference
Encyclopedia of Education
Offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities and of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full text source documents, including education related legislation, international treaties, and testing methods. 8 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
The Third Edition of the highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Special Education offers a thoroughly revised, comprehensive A to Z compilation of authoritative information on the education of those with special needs from AAMR, AMERICAN ASSOCIATION ON MENTAL RETARDATION to ZYGOSITY. All articles are cross-referenced, and citations guiding you to related sources appear at the end of each entry.
Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children
The Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children, Second Edition is an essential reference on research in early childhood education not only in the United States but throughout the world. It provides a comprehensive overview of important contemporary issues and the information necessary to make judgments about these issues. The field has changed significantly since the publication of the first edition of this Handbook in 1993, creating a need for an update. The Handbook of Research on
The Praeger Handbook of Latino Education in the U.S.
Latinos in the United States have fought hard to attain equality, especially in the field of education. The Praeger Handbook of Latino Education in the U.S. focuses on this fight for equal educational access and represents a significant addition to American educational literature. The contributors to this volume reveal that many Latino children still face challenges that were present many decades ago. In addition to such obstacles as cultural conflicts and racism, they also face teachers, curric
U.S. Department of Education
A searchable website connecting you to information from the governement about issues in education.
New York State Education Department
The New York State Education Department is part of the University of the State of New York (USNY), one of the most complete, interconnected systems of educational services in the United States.
Our mission is to raise the knowledge, skill, and opportunity of all the people in New York. Our vision is to provide leadership for a system that yields the best educated people in the world.
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education
Books on Education at SUNY Erie
Education and Democracy in the 21st Century by
Call Number: LB1025.3 N63 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-08
Eminent educational philosopher Nel Noddings draws on John Dewey's foundational work to reimagine educations aims and curriculum for the 21st century. Noddings looks at education as a multi-aim enterprise in which schools must address needs in all three domains of life: home and family, occupational, and civic. She raises critical questions about the current enthusiasm for standardization, the search for "one-best-way" solutions, and the practice of maintaining a sharp separation between the disciplines. Comprehensive in its scope, chapters examine the liberal arts curriculum, vocational education, restructuring secondary school, extracurricular activities, national and global citizenship, critical thinking, and moral education.
The Guide for White Women Who Teach Black Boys by
Call Number: LC2731 .G85 2018
Publication Date: 2017-10-25
Researchers and practitioners are, for the most part, in agreement that the greatest instructional gaps exist between white, female teachers and their black, male students. Achievement data consistently reveal that black boys are underperforming in the nation′s schools. The Guide for White Women Who Teach Black Boys requires the reader to work through activities that may challenge them, ask them to honestly reflect on who they are and where they come from. By engaging in personal and professional introspective work, this guide takes the reader through works by experts, stories by educators and students, and videos that will help personalize the educational lives of black boys and their white teachers.
Cutting School by
Call Number: LB2806.36 .R76 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-26
A timely indictment of the corporate takeover of education and the privatization - and profitability - of separate and unequal schools, published at a critical time in the dismantling of public education in America What do public schools have in common with the pyramid schemes of Amway? Absolutely nothing, yet Trump's education secretary Betsy DeVos - part of the family at the helm of this corporation and a fierce advocate for vouchers, school choice, and free market competition in the education system - may soon be deciding the fate of American children. The wholesale privatization of our schools is expected to be at the top of her agenda. One of the greatest American achievements in the twentieth century was the creation of public schools and universal education, an ideal now deeply at risk. Cornell University professor Noliwe Rooks provides a critical account of the making and unmaking of public education in Cutting School, the first book to foreground how vast racial and eco
Citing Your Work
Citation Resource Page
This link will take you to a list of sources that will show you how to cite your work in many different styles including APA and MLA.
|call the library: