Routers and routing explained at howstuffworks.com
Cisco Networking Essentials by Troy McMillanStart a career in networking Cisco Networking Essentials, 2nd Edition provides the latest for those beginning a career in networking. This book provides the fundamentals of networking and leads you through the concepts, processes, and skills you need to master fundamental networking concepts. Thinking of taking the CCENT Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician ICND1 Exam 100-101? This book has you covered! With coverage of important topics and objectives, each chapter outlines main points and provides clear, engaging discussion that will give you a sound understanding of core topics and concepts. End-of-chapter review questions and suggested labs help reinforce what you've learned, and show you where you may need to backtrack and brush up before exam day. Cisco is the worldwide leader in networking products and services, which are used by a majority of the world's companies. This book gives you the skills and understanding you need to administer these networks, for a skillset that will serve you anywhere around the globe. Understand fundamental networking concepts Learn your way around Cisco products and services Gain the skills you need to administer Cisco routers and switches Prepare thoroughly for the CCENT exam If you're interested in becoming in-demand, network administration is the way to go; if you want to develop the skillset every company wants to hire, Cisco Networking Essentials, 2nd Edition gets you started working with the most widespread name in the business.
Publication Date: 2015
Multimedia Networks and Their Applications by Hans W. Barz; Gregory A. BassettThe transportation of multimedia over the network requires timely and errorless transmission much more strictly than other data. This had led to special protocols and to special treatment in multimedia applications (telephony, IP-TV, streaming) to overcome network issues. This book begins with an overview of the vast market combined with the user's expectations. The base mechanisms of the audio/video coding (H.26x etc.) are explained to understand characteristics of the generated network traffic. Further chapters treat common specialized underlying IP network functions which cope with multimedia data in conjunction which special time adaption measures. Based on those standard functions these chapters can treat uniformly SIP, H.248, High-End IP-TV, Webcast, Signage etc. A special section is devoted to home networks which challenge high-end service delivery due to possibly unreliable management. The whole book treats concepts described in accessible IP-based standards and which are implemented broadly. The book is aimed at graduate students/practitioners with good basic knowledge in computer networking. It provides the reader with all concepts of currently used IP technologies of how to deliver multimedia efficiently to the end user.
Publication Date: 2016
CCENT ICND1 Study Guide by Todd LammleComplete CCENT preparation with hands-on practice and robust study aids The CCENT Study Guide, 3rd Edition offers complete conceptual and practical study tools for the Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician exam. Written by networking expert Todd Lammle, this study guide provides everything you need to pass the CCENT with flying colors. 100% coverage of the all exam objectives includes detailed discussion on IP data networks, IPv4 and IPv6 addressing, switching and routing, network security, and much more. Todd draws on 30 years of experience to give you practical examples and real-world insights that go way beyond exam prep, and plenty of hands-on labs help you gain experience with important tasks. The Sybex interactive online learning tools include a pre-assessment test to show you how much you already know, two bonus ICND-1 practice exams to test your understanding, and hundreds of sample questions and over 100 flashcards provide quick review. Exclusive to this study guide is 30 days free online video training with over 17 hours of additional instruction from the experts at ITPro TV. The CCENT is the entry-level certification for those looking to break into the networking field. As a part of the CCNA certification process, the exam is comprehensive--and a comprehensive study guide is essential. This study guide helps you develop the skills and knowledge you need to be confident on exam day. Review all CCENT exam objectives Access online study tools and practice ICND1 exams Get hands-on experience with dozens of labs Master switching and routing, troubleshooting, security, and more Don't bother parsing technical references or trying to figure it out yourself. This book allows you to learn and review with networking's leading authority, with clear explanations, practical instruction, and real-world insight. When you're ready for the next step in your career, the CCENT Study Guide, 3rd Edition gets you on track to succeed on the CCENT exam.
Publication Date: 2016
CCNA Routing and Switching Complete Study Guide by Todd LammleNetworking's leading authority joins Sybex for the ultimate CCNA prep guide CCNA Routing and Switching Complete Study Guide, 2nd Edition is your comprehensive review for the CCNA exams. Written by the leading authority on networking technology, this guide covers 100% of all objectives for the latest ICND1, ICND2, and CCNA Composite exams. Hands-on labs help you gain experience in critical procedures and practices, and the network simulator provides a realistic lab environment so you can practice at your own pace. Gain access to the Sybex online learning environment, featuring a robust set of study tools including: practice questions, flashcards, video instruction, and an extensive glossary of terms to help you better prepare for exam day. The pre-assessment test helps you prioritize your study time, and bonus practice exams allow you to test your understanding. Need more practice? Get 20% off a year subscription and free access to premium Cisco Labs--providing hands-on, real-world experience using Cisco Routers, Switches, and Firewalls. Free online video training is also included, with almost forty hours of Routing and Switching guidance from the experts at ITProTV. The CCNA certification is essential to a career in networking, and the exam can be taken in two parts or as a composite. Whichever you choose, this book is your essential guide for complete review. Master IP data network operation Troubleshoot issues and keep the network secure Understand switching and routing technologies Work with IPv4 and IPv6 addressing Full coverage and expert insight makes CCNA Routing and Switching Complete Study Guide your ultimate companion for CCNA prep.