LibGuides: College Success Skills GS111: Cultural Exchange

Search the catalog with Primo

Related Guides

Cultural Anthropology
by Hadeen Stokes Last Updated Nov 29, 2023 18 views this year
Countries and their Cultures
by Jacqueline Coffey Scott Last Updated Nov 22, 2022 354 views this year

E-Books

Countries and Their Cultures by Melvin Ember; Carol R. Ember
This guide provides a reference for anyone seeking information about the predominant and variable cultural forms, mores, and modes of expression in virtually every country. Entries cover many of the elements that together constitute the predominant culture, as well as lost cultures of the world.
The Encyclopedia of World Cultures by David Levinson (Editor); Timothy J. O'Leary (Editor)
Features coverage of every Native American culture that exists today in the United States and Canada. In addition, there is full coverage of such diverse groups as Cajuns, African Americans, Amish, Mormons and Latinos.

Search for more e-books through these databases:

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 1,000 electronic reference titles eBooks; in virtually any subject, including health, science, art, history, biography and many more. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.

Evaluating web sources

Remember it's important to evaluate your sources before using them for research. Evaluation criteria includes: relevancy, accuracy, authority, currency, and purpose. You can learn more at this website about evaluating web sources developed by UC Berkeley Library.

Sample reference books

Here are a couple reference books which may be useful. Search for more using the catalog! (To narrow your search in Primo specifically to reference books, once you've entered your search, under the "Material Type" drop-down menu on the left side of the screen, limit to "Reference Entries" and "Books/Ebooks").

Marriage Customs of the World by George P. Monger
Call Number: Erie City Library Ref. GT2690 .M65 2013
This book presents a comprehensive overview of global courtship and marriage customs, from ancient history to contemporary society, demonstrating the vast differences as well as the similarities across all of human culture.
They Eat That? by Jonathan Deutsch (Editor); Natalya Murakhver (Editor)
Call Number: Erie City Library Ref. GT2850 .T44 2012
This thoroughly engaging encyclopedia considers the rich diversity of unfamiliar foods eaten around the world.
Death and the Afterlife by Lionel Rothkrug; Richard P. Taylor
Call Number: Erie City Library Ref. GT3150 .T25 2000
This cultural encyclopedia examines customs and beliefs relating to death and burial in clear, well written articles covering most major religious and cultural traditions from prehistoric to modern times.
Holidays, Festivals and Celebrations of the World Dictionary by Omnigraphics
Call Number: Material Type: Book Location: Erie City Library Circulating Collection GT3925 .H64 2015
A comprehensive dictionary that describes more than 3,300 holidays and festivals celebrated around the world. Features both secular and religious events from many different cultures, countries, and ethnic groups.