This leading reference source devoted to radiation therapy physics is now in its Third Edition. Pertinent to the entire radiation oncology team, it is clinically oriented and presents practical aspects as well as underlying theory to clarify basic concepts. The format begins with underlying physics, then progresses to treatment planning, and ends with radiation. Contains an expanded focus with seven new chapters on special procedures. Remaining chapters have been revised to detail any new developments in the field over the past eight years. Illustrations are overhauled to reflect current practice and to detail the new procedures added. Provides a solid foundation for residents and a strong review for practitioners.
Learn everything you need to know about radiation therapy with the only comprehensive text written for radiation therapy students by radiation therapists. Principles and Practice of Radiation Therapy is designed to help you understand cancer management, improve clinical techniques for delivering doses of radiation, and apply complex concepts to treatment planning and delivery. This edition features enhanced learning tools and thoroughly updated content, including three new chapters to inform you of increasingly important technologies and practices. The up-to-date and authoritative coverage of this text make it a resource you'll want to consult throughout your radiation therapy courses and beyond. Comprehensive coverage of radiation therapy includes a clear introduction and overview plus complete information on physics, simulation, and treatment planning. Spotlights and shaded boxes identify the most important concepts. End-of-chapter questions provide a useful review. Chapter objectives, key terms, outlines, and summaries make it easier to prioritize, understand, and retain key information. Key terms are bolded and defined at first mention in the text, and included in the glossary for easy reference. UPDATED chemotherapy section, expansion of What Causes Cancer, and inclusions of additional cancer biology terms and principles provide the essential information needed for clinical success. UPDATED coverage of post-image manipulation techniques includes new material on Cone beam utilization, MR imaging, image guided therapy, and kV imaging. NEW section on radiation safety and misadministration of treatment beams addresses the most up-to-date practice requirements. Content updates also include new ASRT Practice Standards and AHA Patient Care Partnership Standards, keeping you current with practice requirements. UPDATED full-color insert is expanded to 32 pages, and displays images from newer modalities.
Considered the "gold standard" in the field for over 45 years, Radiobiology for the Radiologist combines traditional and molecular radiation biology principles and appeals to students, residents, and veteran clinical practitioners. This edition continues the two-part format of previous editions and features brand-new chapters, thoroughly updated content, and hundreds of figures that provide a visual context to the information in each chapter. Organized into two sections. Part1 is sufficient for students of Radiology and Nuclear Medicine and follows the syllabus published by RSNA. Students in Radiation Oncology need the general information contained in Part 1, but also need the more specialized information contained in Part 2. New chapters introduce new therapies on medical countermeasures to radiation exposure and new molecular techniques in radiology. Mirrors the format of the Syllabus in Radiation Biology prepared by the Radiological Society of North America (RSNA). Written for residents, researchers, and graduate students in radiology, nuclear medicine, radiation oncology, and medical physics. Generally considered the most comprehensive textbook on cellular and molecular radiobiology. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech. Adapt for unique reading needs, supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more.
The updated, second edition of the textbook Applied Physics for Radiation Oncology, originally published in 1996 is intended for both radiation therapists and students of radiation therapy. Chapters cover treatment planning, photon and electron dosimetry, brachytherapy, methods of dose calculation, isodose curves, beam-modifying devices, patient and beam geometry, radiation protection, and clinical use and operation of linear accelerators. The authors unify the principles of radiation therapy physics with the real world of clinical practice. A must for radiation therapists.
Expand your understanding of the physics and practical clinical applications of advanced radiation therapy technologies with Khan's The Physics of Radiation Therapy, 5th edition, the book that set the standard in the field. This classic full-color text helps the entire radiation therapy team--radiation oncologists, medical physicists, dosimetrists, and radiation therapists--develop a thorough understanding of 3D conformal radiotherapy (3D-CRT), stereotactic radiosurgery (SRS), high dose-rate remote afterloaders (HDR), intensity modulated radiation therapy (IMRT), image-guided radiation therapy (IGRT), Volumetric Modulated Arc Therapy (VMAT), and proton beam therapy, as well as the physical concepts underlying treatment planning, treatment delivery, and dosimetry. In preparing this new Fifth Edition, Dr. Kahn and new co-author Dr. John Gibbons made chapter-by-chapter revisions in the light of the latest developments in the field, adding new discussions, a new chapter, and new color illustrations throughout. Now even more precise and relevant, this edition is ideal as a reference book for practitioners, a textbook for students, and a constant companion for those preparing for their board exams. Features Stay on top of the latest advances in the field with new sections and/or discussions of Image Guided Radiation Therapy (IGRT), Volumetric Modulated Arc Therapy (VMAT), and the Failure Mode Event Analysis (FMEA) approach to quality assurance. Deepen your knowledge of Stereotactic Body Radiotherapy (SBRT) through a completely new chapter that covers SBRT in greater detail. Expand your visual understanding with new full color illustrations that reflect current practice and depict new procedures. Access the authoritative information you need fast through the new companion website which features fully searchable text and an image bank for greater convenience in studying and teaching.
MEDICAL TERMINOLOGY: A PROGRAMMED SYSTEMS APPROACH, 10E is your number one resource for learning medical terminology. Enhanced with innovative built-in tools to make learning easier, interactive exercises, and extensive improvements that reflect the most accurate, up-to-date industry terms today, makes this book an industry leading resource. MEDICAL TERMINOLOGY: A PROGRAMMED SYSTEMS APPROACH, 10E uses a unique word-building programmed approach that will teach you to break down key medical terms into their roots, prefixes, and suffixes. This programmed-learning format requires active participation through reading, writing, answering questions, labeling, repetition, and providing immediate feedback. With engaging review activities, back-of-the-book flash cards, and an accompanying CD-ROM with interactive learning activities, this book provides a complete package for building a comprehensive entry-level knowledge of medical language for readers with little or no previous experience. Now in its 10th edition, this book is a proven resource that is easy and fun to use. Teaching medical terminology has never been easier.