Library Resource Center
You will need to log in with your SUNY Erie username and password (same as used to access email and MyECC) to access online library resources from home.
The complete plays of Shakespeare are also available individually - search by title.
Critical Survey of Shakespeare's Plays by
Critical Survey of Shakespeare's Plays, Salem Press? newest Shakespearean study guide, closely examines all 38 of Shakespeare's plays, as well as Shakespeare's life, style, technique, and influences. Each essay is devoted to a single work and provides an in-depth critical analysis of the play's historical significance, literary/dramatic techniques, and meaning to a contemporary audience.
Doing Shakespeare by
A throroughly revised edition of the successful student text Doing Shakespeare, first published in 2005. The book's success lies in the close readings it gives students, demystifying the language of the plays and critical approaches to it. The new edition introduces a new way of approaching Shakespeare's text, through ideas of performance and the actor's role and restructures the content to make it easier to navigate. Simon Palfrey takes a direct approach to the common difficulties faced by students "doing" Shakespeare and tackles them head on in a no-nonsense style which makes the book especially accessible. He bring us much closer to the animate life of the plays, as things that are not finished monuments but living material, in process and up for grabs, empowering students to see opportunities for their own creative or re-creative readings of Shakespeare.
The Routledge Guide to William Shakespeare by
Demystifying and contextualising Shakespeare for the twenty-first century, this book offers both an introduction to the subject for beginners as well asnbsp;an invaluable resource for more experienced Shakespeareans. In this friendly, structured guide, Robert Shaughnessy: introduces Shakespeare's life and works in context, providing crucial historical background looks at each of Shakespeare's plays in turn, considering issues of historical context, contemporary criticism and performance history provides detailed discussion of twentieth-century Shakespearean criticism, exploring thenbsp;theories, debates and discoveries that shape our understanding of Shakespeare today looks at contemporary performances of Shakespeare on stage and screen provides further critical reading by play outlines detailed chronologies of Shakespeare's life and works and also of twentieth-century criticism The companion website at www.routledge.com/textbooks/shaughnessynbsp;contains student-focusednbsp;materials and resources, including an interactive timeline and annotated weblinks.
The works of Shakespeare plus books about his literary output, his life and times can be found on the Library shelves beginning around Library of Congress classification PR2800.
The complete plays of Shakespeare are also available in the Library individually - search by title.
Some recent titles include:
Critical Survey of Shakespeare's Plays by
Critical Survey of Shakespeare's Plays, Salem Press? newest Shakespearean study guide, closely examines all 38 of Shakespeare's plays, as well as Shakespeare's life, style, technique, and influences. Each essay is devoted to a single work and provides an in-depth critical analysis of the play's historical significance, literary/dramatic techniques, and meaning to a contemporary audience.
The Globe Guide to Shakespeare by
With full coverage of the thirty-nine Shakespearian plays (including a synopsis, full character list, stage history, and a critical essay for each), this comprehensive guide is both a quick reference and an in-depth background guide for theatre goers, students, film buffs, and lovers of literature. Along with an exploration of the Bard's sonnets and narrative poems, The Globe Guide to Shakespeare features fascinating accounts of Shakespeare's life and the Globe Theater itself, with colorful details about each play's original performance.This comprehensive guide includes up-to-date reviews of the best films and audio recordings of each play, from Laurence Olivier to Baz Luhrmann, Kozintsev to Kurosawa. The Globe Guide to Shakespeare is the quintessential celebration of all things Shakespearian.
Shakespeare by
Ideas in Profile: Small Introductions to Big Topics Shakespeare is the world's greatest writer. In this lively and authoritative introduction, Paul Edmondson presents Shakespeare afresh as a dramatist and poet, and encourages us to take ownership of the works for ourselves as words to be spoken as well as discussed. We get a wide sense of what his life was like, his rich language, and astonishing cultural legacy. We catch glimpses of Shakespeare himself, how he wrote and see what his works mean to readers and theatre practitioners. Above all,we see how Shakespeare tackled the biggest themes of humanity: power, history, war and love. Shakespeare scholar Paul Edmondson guides us through the most important questions around Shakespeare and in the process reminds us just why he is so celebrated in the first place.
Shakespeare Basics for Grown-Ups by
An essential guide to Shakespeare, from the international bestselling authors of Homework for Grown-Ups The Bard was so incredibly prolific that even most Shakespeare scholars would welcome the occasional refresher course, and most of the rest of us haven't even got a clue as to what a petard actually is. Fear not, the bestselling authors of Homework for Grown-Ups are here to help. For parents keen to help with their children's homework, casual theatre-goers who want to enhance their enjoyment and understanding, and the general reader who feels they should probably know more, Shakespeare Basics for Grown-Ups includes information on the key works, historical context, contemporaries and influences, famous speeches and quotations, modern day adaptations, and much, much more.
These databases will lead you to articles about Shakespeare and his works, performance practices, the Globe Theatre and more. You will need to log in with your SUNY Erie username and password (same as used to access email and MyECC) to access online library resources from home.
Check out these sites for information on the Globe Theatre, Shakespeare, his world and his plays.
Check out these venues for great performances of Shakespearean plays.
Code from these LibGuides pages are a derivative of LibGuides code by UC Santa Cruz University Library, used under CC BY.
