It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides basic consumer health information about the abuse of illegal drugs and misuse of prescription and over-the-counter medications, with facts about addiction, treatment, and recovery. Includes index, glossary of related terms and directory of resources.
The Addiction Treatment Planner provides all the elements necessary to quickly and easily develop formal treatment plans that satisfy the demands of HMOs, managed care companies, third-party payers, and state and federal agencies. Organized around 43 behaviorally based presenting problems, including substance use, eating disorders, schizoid traits, and others Over 1,000 pre-written treatment goals, objectives, and interventions--plus space to record your own treatment plan options.
Find articles from relevant databases that SUNY Erie provides.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
Contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. It features extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
A thorough, interdisciplinary survey of all aspects of drug and alcohol abuse. The text draws from the many disciplines of history, law, pharmacology, political science, social work, counseling, psychology, sociology, and criminal justice -- resulting in the most comprehensive, authoritative resource available. Coverage includes the history of drugs, their impact on society, the pharmacological impact of drugs on the body, drug policy implications, the criminal justice system response, the drug business, law enforcement, theories of use, as well as the effects, treatment, and prevention of abuse.
A collection of contemporary and classic articles on the changing patterns, problems, perspectives, and policies of legal and illicit drug use. Features forty-two selections that cover all abused drugs - amphetamines and methamphetamines, opiates, marijuana, cocaine and crack, hallucinogens, and "club drugs" - as well as such legal substances as alcohol, tobacco, and prescription drugs. Other topics include gender and addiction; cross-cultural research into drug use; the relationship between drugs, violence, and street crime; the symbolic meaning of drug taking; injection drug use; the social construction of drug problems and moral panics; prevention and treatment; and the drug legalization debate.
Call Number: RC568.C6 W368 2009, Erie City Library Circulating Collection
Publication Date: 2009-03-30
A practice-oriented approach to understanding and overcoming addiction to cocaine, with the addition of a treatment protocol for working with clients addicted to methamphetamines. Specific strategies and case examples.The book includes an overview of cocaine and methamphetamine use in America; an explanation of the effects of stimulant drugs on the brain, body, and behavior; the process by which addiction develops; signs of stimulant abuse and dependence; treatment options; establishing abstinence and stages of recovery; the distinct benefits of individual, group, and family psychotherapy; and twelve-step programs.
Call Number: RJ506.D78 A35 2008, Erie North Library Circulating Collection
Publication Date: 2008-02-05
A comprehensive review of information on adolescent addiction, including prevalence and co-morbidity rates, risk factors to addiction, and prevention and treatment strategies.
Discusses for each the definition, epidemiology, risk factors, co-morbidity, course and outcome, and prevention and intervention as well as assessment and treatment of co-morbid conditions.