LibGuides: Clinical Laboratory Technology: Internet Resources

Drug Information

DailyMed DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA approved labels (package inserts). The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements.
Drug Information Portal The portal provides quick access to quality drug information from multiple medical research organizations. Maintained by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

Internet Health Information Portals

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention provide highly credible information on disease data and statistics, emergencies and disasters, environmental health, healthy living, and much more. Features podcasts and RSS feeds.
Erie County Department of Health The mission of the Erie County Department of Health is to protect the public's health, to prevent disease and premature death through the promotion of healthy living and wellness, and to provide a safety net of services for those with limited access to healthcare.
MedLinePlus MedLinePlus brings together authoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMRW) The MMWR series is the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations. Features podcasts and RSS feeds.
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.
National Center for Health Statistics The National Center for Health Statistics is a rich source of information about America's health. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, it compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people.
National Institutes of Heath - Health Information The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research. The site contains browsable health topics from A-Z. It highlights health resources for children, teens, men, women, and seniors.
New York State Department of Health The New York State Department of Health provides assistance with the following: * Birth, marriage, divorce or death records * Medicaid * Information about a particular doctor * Job openings in the health care professions * Emergency Medical Services (EMS) * Forms * Public Health Law
U.S. National Library of Medicine The National Library of Medicine (NLM), in Bethesda, Maryland, is the world's largest biomedical library and a developer of electronic medical research services.

Clincal Laboratory Technology Internet Resources

American Association for Clinical Chemistry - Education and Careers A source for continuing education, career information, & job postings
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Lab Training Provides access to hands-on, laboratory training workshops, national teleconferences, seminars, train-the-trainer workshops, and web-based products.
Lab Tests Online Provides professional and consumer laboratory testing information.
Merck Audio Dictionary of Audio Dictionary of Medical Terms This portion of Merck Manual of Medical Information - Home Edition provides a browse-able A-Z list of medical vocabulary that is read out-loud to assist you in office communications and transcription.
PLoS Pathogens Peer Reviewed, Open Access Journal. PLoS Pathogens publishes original articles that significantly advance the understanding of pathogens and how they interact with their host organisms.

Medical Literature Researching with the Internet

Researching Medical Literature on the Internet
Explains key Internet resources for medical research
PubMed
Digital archive of citations from biomedical and life sciences journals. - Partial full text. Many of the cited articles found in PubMed are available in full text from SUNY Erie's access to MEDLINE with Full Text.
PubMed Central
An open access database of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. A sub-division of PubMed. - Full text