LibGuides: Medical Assisting & Medical Office Practice: Internet Resources

Administrative - Internet Resources

ADVANCE for Health Information Professionals Web site for the monthly trade magazine - free digital & print access available
Agency for Health Research and Quality (AHRQ) AHRQ conducts research on health care quality, patient safety, outcomes and effectiveness of care, clinical practice, technology, and health care organizations.
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Regulations, coding, billing, training, forms, prescription drug coverage, etc. for Medicare, Medicaid, HIPPA, CLIA, and CHIP
Classification of Diseases, Functioning, and Disability ICD-9, ICD-10, ICD-9CM, ICD-10CM, ICF. The International Classification of Diseases (ICD) is the classification used to code and classify mortality data from death certificates.
Overview of Health Care Regulations - U.S. Department of Health & Human Services Health Information Technology Standards, Laws & Regulations, and Policies & Guidelines
more...less...
The Department of Health & Human Services issues regulations to implement laws and develops policies and guidance for industry, state and local governments, and other organizations. The topics of Health Information Technology Standards, Additional Laws & Regulation, and Policies & Guidelines open-up to display many links to helpful information.

Internet Health Information Portals

Researching Medical Literature on the Internet This article from LLRX.com explains key Internet resources for medical research.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention provide highly credible information on disease data and statistics, emergencies and disasters, environmental health, healthy living, and much more. Features podcasts and RSS feeds.
Erie County Department of Health The mission of the Erie County Department of Health is to protect the public's health, to prevent disease and premature death through the promotion of healthy living and wellness, and to provide a safety net of services for those with limited access to healthcare.
MedLinePlus MedLinePlus brings together authoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMRW) The MMWR series is the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations. Features podcasts and RSS feeds.
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.
National Center for Health Statistics The National Center for Health Statistics is a rich source of information about America's health. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, it compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people.
National Institutes of Heath - Health Information The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research. The site contains browsable health topics from A-Z. It highlights health resources for children, teens, men, women, and seniors.
New York State Department of Health The New York State Department of Health provides assistance with the following: * Birth, marriage, divorce or death records * Medicaid * Information about a particular doctor * Job openings in the health care professions * Emergency Medical Services (EMS) * Forms * Public Health Law
U.S. National Library of Medicine The National Library of Medicine (NLM), in Bethesda, Maryland, is the world's largest biomedical library and a developer of electronic medical research services.

Clincial - Internet Resources

Health Videos from MedLinePlus These animated videos show the anatomy of body parts and organ systems and how diseases and conditions affect them.
more...less...
MedLinePlus brings together authoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
Drug Information Portal The portal provides quick access to quality drug information from multiple medical research organizations. Maintained by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Lab Tests Online Provides professional and consumer laboratory testing information.
Merck Audio Dictionary of Audio Dictionary of Medical Terms This portion of Merck Manual of Medical Information - Home Edition provides a browse-able A-Z list of medical vocabulary that is read out-loud to assist you in office communications and transcription.
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy Guide to disorders and diseases
more...less...
The Merck Manuals are a series of healthcare books for medical professionals and consumers. As a service to the community, the content of The Manuals is now available in enhanced online versions as part of The Merck Manuals Online Medical Library.