LibGuides: Biological Sciences: Articles/Databases

Use Primo to find SUNY Erie Library books, articles, and more

Refine Primo Results by Material Type: Articles

Tip: You can use the "Refine your results" menu to limit your Primo Search results to articles only. Select Material Type, then select Articles. Remember to click the APPLY FILTERS button after you make your selection. See also: Filtering Search Results in Primo

Explore Relevant Article Databases

Best Bets
Video Tutorials & Help

Primo locates results in databases like those listed below. You can explore all of our databases at the A-Z Databases list.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.
Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic. Complimentary COVID-19 trial access.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, and environmental technology.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes scientific, technical, medical, and social science information from Elsevier Science and other publishers.

NOTE: SUNY Erie students and employees may request articles that are not available in the college's databases.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a deep-web search engine with high-end content (e.g., scholarly articles, government reports, conference paper). It can even lead you to items in Google Books.

Google Scholar will recognize SUNY Erie's database content if you set Google Scholar's preferences to include Erie Community College as a Library Link. Visit the Google Scholar preference page at http://scholar.google.com/scholar_preferences?hl=en.

Sample search: "biodiversity crisis"