LibGuides: Biological Sciences: Web Resources

Botany

Careers in Botany
Information on careers in Botany from the Botanical Society of America.
Center for Plant Conservation
The Center for Plant Conservation (CPC) is dedicated solely to preventing the extinction of U.S. native plants.
Directory of Recommended Links | University of Washington Botanic Gardens Library
New York Botanical Garden Digital Plant Resource Center
Includes a virtual herbarium, a library with digitized materials and more.
PLANTS Database
Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. From the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service.

Evolution

Evolution Resources from the National Academies
Collection of books, reports, statements, papers, and other resources about evolution from the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.
NOVA | Evolution
PBS science series's website on evolution. Includes articles, streaming video, interviews, and more.
The Complete Work of Charles Darwin Online
Search-able archive of Darwin's publications, papers and manuscripts. Includes a biography.
Understanding Evolution
Non-commercial, education website, teaching the science and history of evolutionary biology. Collaborative project of the University of California Museum of Paleontology and the National Center for Science Education.

Genetics

Basic Principles of Genetics: An Introduction to Mendelian Genetics
From the Behavioral Sciences Department of Palomar College.
Careers in Human Genetics
Information on careers in human genetics from the American Society of Human Genetics.
Human Genome Project Information
Learn.Genetics
Resources on genetic, bioscience and health topics for students, educators, and the public from the University of Utah.
Mendelian Genetics
Website on Mendelian Genetics from North Dakota State University professor.

Evaluating Internet Sources

It is important to always evaluate a website before using it for research purposes.

Some criteria for evaluating websites include: accuracy, authority, coverage, currency, objectivity, purpose, and support. UC Berkeley Library's Evaluating Web Pages Resource has more information on evaluating websites. Librarians can also help you to determine if a website is reliable.

General Biology Websites

BiologyGuide.net
Features units covering topics from the world of general biology and human biology. Information is presented in the form of an outlines - similar to study notes.
Encyclopedia of Life
The goal of Encyclopedia of Life is be an online reference and database on all 1.9 million species currently known to science.
HHMI's BioInteractive
Promotes understanding of biology through interactive learning. Includes videos, animations, lectures, and virtual labs.
National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics
NCSES is responsible for statistical data on the following: research and development,the science and engineering workforce, U.S. competitiveness in science, engineering, technology and R&D, and the condition and progress of STEM education in the United States.
SICB.org Career Information
Career information from the Society for Integrative & Comparative Biology.

Zoology

Animal Diversity Web
online encyclopedia which provides a classification of the animals down to the phylum level. Each phylum listed has a link to material about members of that phylum. Provided by Museum of Zoology, University of Michigan.
Audubon Online Guide to North American Birds
Covers all species of birds that breed in or regularly visit North America north of Mexico, as well as many of the rarer visitors. Includes essays, names and measurements, range maps, and more.
Endangered Species Program, U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
US Fish and Wildlife Service offical lists of recognized endangered species, candidates for the lists, and guidelines and qualifications for the lists.
What to do with a Degree in Zoology
Information on Zoology careers from the Oklahoma State University College of Arts and Sciences Career Services.
WildFinder
Map-driven, searchable database of more than 26,000 animal species worldwide.

WNY Resources

Birds of Western New York
Page by Canisius Ambassadors for Conservation devoted to the bird species found in Western New York and Southern Ontario.
Buffalo Audubon Society
The Buffalo Audubon Society promotes appreciation and enjoyment of the natural world through education and stewardship.
Niagara Frontier Botanical Society
Society formed to promote the study, appreciation and conservation of plant life in Western New York and adjacent Ontario, with an emphasis on field botany. Affiliate of the Buffalo Museum of Science.
NYS Department of Environmental Conservation Region 9
NYS Department of Environmental Conservation Region 9 includes Erie, Niagara, Wyoming, Chautauqua, Cattaraugus, and Allegany counties.
WNYWildlife.com
Information and photography of Western New York fauna.

Games and Simulations

Darwin: Who Wants to Live a Million Years?
Science Channel natural selection simulation/game. Plays in web browser.
Darwinbots
Darwinbots is an open source artificial life simulator which attempts to simulate artificial life and evolution. Windows download.
Evolution in Action
Interactive evolution simulator from PBS NOVA. In this game, change the environment of "living" things and see how random mutations help them survive.
Virtual Labs | Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Five virtual labs: The Transgenic Fly Lab, the Bacterial Identification Lab, the Cardiology Lab, the Neurophysiology Lab, and Immunology Lab.