LibGuides: VCT / Graphic Arts & Printing: Articles

Databases

Databases can be a solid source for articles (journals, magazines, newspapers and other publications. As a researcher, you need to elect the one(s) containing sources relevant to your topic. Start with the Suggested Best Bets.

A-Z List of All SUNY Erie Databases

Access requires SUNY Erie login.

SUNY Erie login required

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 1,000 electronic reference titles eBooks; in virtually any subject, including health, science, art, history, biography and many more. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Topics include Graphics, Multimedia, Visual Communications. Specific subscriptions include Eye, International Review of Graphic design.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Company and industry information along with scholarly and general business periodicals.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive full text journal coverage. Resources also include financial data, books, industry reports, SWOT analyses and more.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
A source for "green" printing developments.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Humanities Full Text provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications.

Some databases have tutorials and other information. Links are usually at the top or sides of the search page.

How to Search a Database (video)
Uses EBSCO's Academic Search Premier as a model. N.B.: be sure to check the citation result for style accuracy.

Some items are available as hardcopy. Browse the library's periodical collection for the latest issues. Check with a librarian for past issues.

HOW: Designer's Ultimate Type Toolkit
ArtNews
Advertising Age
City and South Libraries. Link to online also available.
Eye: The International Review of Graphic Design
Full-text of the articles available in Academic OneFile (SUNY Erie database).
Journal of Electronic Publishing
Peer reviewed, open access journal focused on contemporary publishing practices. Issues include design.

1. If your article's record has a 360 Link, click it. The 360 will search for that article in the other SUNY Erie databases and hardcopy periodicals.

2. Check with the Reference Librarian. The problem may be a temporary electronic glitch, the library may have a hard copy of the publication, or the article may be available through some other online route.

3. Request the article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). If you are a first-time user, set up your personal ILL account.

4. See a Reference Librarian for assistance,

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be an effective site for to find scholarly literature. If in an SUNY Erie database, Google Scholar will link to the article (SUNY Erie username and password required for access). As always, check with a librarian for additional assistance.

Try this sample search: "graphic design" history

Use the drop down menu at the top to limit your results (e.g., exclude patents). Option: turn your words into a phrase by using quotation marks.

Scroll through a few pages of results. The best hit may be further down the list. If the article is not available, request it through ILL. Links to Google Books may give you partial text or sometimes full.