Introducing Anthropology offers a serious but accessible introduction to anthropology and is the perfect starting point for anyone new to the subject. Across a series of fourteen chapters, it addresses the different fields and approaches within anthropology, covers an extensive range of themes, and emphasizes the role of anthropology in the world today. Introducing Anthropology aims to inspire and enthuse a new generation of anthropologists. It is suitable for a range of different readers, from students studying the subject at school-level to university students looking for a clear and engaging entry point into anthropology.

In this concise introduction to cultural anthropology, now in its 4th edition, Lassiter takes a fresh and accessible approach to stimulating student interest in the human experience. He uses timely and engaging examples to showcase the ongoing relevance of anthropology today. He also explores how the anthropological perspective can be applied to real-world problems on the local, regional, and global scale. The 4th edition features updates and clarifications throughout the text, including expanded discussion of evolution, language, fieldwork, gender identities, and belief systems. New Anthropology Here and Now sidebars encourage readers to delve deeper into particular subjects and to connect with current and ongoing conversations among working anthropologists. Taken as a whole, the book serves as an ideal text for introductory undergraduate courses."

How do archaeologists think? How do they use the scattered and often-fragmentary remains from the past both historical and excavated to create meaningful, sensible interpretations of human history? In Archaeological Thinking, Charles E. Orser Jr., provides a commonsense guide to applying critical thinking skills to archaeological questions and evidence. Rather than critiquing and debunking specific cases of pseudo-archaeology or concentrating on archaeological theory, Orser considers the basics of scientific thinking, the use of logic and analogy, the meaning and context of facts, and the evaluation of source materials. He explains, concisely and accessibly, how archaeologists use these principles to create pictures of the past and teaches students to develop the skills needed to make equally reasoned interpretations."

Humans have an appetite for food, and anthropology--as the study of human beings, their culture, and society--has an interest in the role of food. From ingredients and recipes to meals and menus across time and space, Eating Culture is a highly engaging overview that illustrates the important role that anthropology and anthropologists have played in understanding food. Organized around the sometimes elusive concept of cuisine and the public discourse--on gastronomy, nutrition, sustainability, and culinary skills--that surrounds it, this practical guide to anthropological method and theory brings order and insight to our changing relationship with food.

A Companion to Urban Anthropology presents a collection of original essays from international scholars on key issues in urban anthropology and broader cross-disciplinary urban studies. Features newly commissioned essays from 35 leading international scholars in urban and global studies.

This update to the award-winning The Origins of Modern Humans: A World Survey of the Fossil Evidence covers the most accepted common theories concerning the emergence of modern Homo sapiens-adding fresh insight from top young scholars on the key new discoveries of the past 25 years.

This companion provides a comprehensive survey of contemporary thinking in biological, social and cultural anthropology.

This reference dictionary takes a new approach to the study of physical anthropology by focusing on the concepts involved. The comprehensive bibliographies enable the reader to pursue further study of concepts of particular interest. Indispensable to students just beginning their studies in the field, the dictionary will also be an invaluable reference for scholars and researchers.