LibGuides: Communications & Media Arts: Exploring Media sources

News and Media Sources/Watchdogs

Watchdog groups attempt to hold accountable people, organizations and institutions whose functions or activities negatively impact social or political life.

American Journalism Review
AJR examines how the media cover specific stories and analyzes ethical dilemmas in the field.
CorpWatch
CorpWatch attempts to expose corporate malfeasance and to advocate for multinational corporate accountability and transparency.
FactCheck.org
We are a nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.
FAIR, Fairness & Accuracy in Reporting
Scrutinizes media practices that marginalize public interest and dissenting viewpoints and expose neglected news stories.
On the Media
A weekly radio program that focuses on the media's presentation of major news stories.
Politifact.com
Fact-checking journalism is the heart of PolitiFact. Our core principles are independence, transparency, fairness, thorough reporting and clear writing. The reason we publish is to give citizens the information they need to govern themselves in a democracy.
PR Watch.org
Exposes how the public relations industry manipulates public information and popular opinion.

Alt Magazines and Newspapers

The alternative news sources below are available full-text and are searchable via library databases.

The last two links, In These Times and The Utne Reader, bring you straight to the publications' websites.

Conducting a web search on any of the titles in this group and following the links to the publications' websites will bring you to constantly updated content and blog discussions under articles and on current topics.

Keep your eye on these good alternative news sources!

Mother Jones
Presents articles dealing with national news, investigative reporting, commentary, the arts as well as articles on health, the environment and book reviews.
The Nation
Begun in 1865, providing critical voice for social and political issues.
After clicking the link, look at the second heading titled "Nation (New York, N.Y.)" on the list for issue coverage across multiple databases.
The Progressive
Investigative reporting, analysis and commentary on major issues of political, economic and social concern. A leading voice for peace and social justice in America.
After clicking the link, look at the second heading titled "Progressive (Madison)" on the list for issue coverage across multiple databases.
In These Times
Features award-winning investigative reporting and insightful analysis of national and international affairs.
The Utne Reader
The current issue is available online.

Independent News Organizations

These organizations cover the news that affects how we live and think. Try any one of these for a different perspective.

Alternative Insight
A monthly newsletter that covers domestic and foreign policy, politics and media.
Alternet
Investigative journalism on a variety of topics.
The American Prospect
Provides liberal perspectives on democracy, society and politics.
Between the Lines
A weekly syndicated radio program from a progressive point of view.
Democracy Now!
An award winning radio and TV news service.
Independent Media Center
Begun in 1999 during the World Trade Organization protests, it's a collective of media outlets.
OneWorld.net
Focused on global issues, human rights and sustainable development.
Pacifica Radio
Disseminates information on the causes of conflict, promotes the study of unrest and economic problems.
World Press.org
Provides news from outside the US and reports on perceptions of the US role in global affairs.
Z Net
An enormous source of alternative views as well as an e-zine of life in the US.

Credit & Citation

Many thanks to Kathleen D. Rickert, reference librarian at St. Catherine University in St. Paul, Minnesota for her awesome work, used by permission, on alternative media resources.

Rickert, K. D. (2011). Media and democracy: Resources for alternative news and information. College & Research Libraries News, 72(1), 24-27.