Literary Theory

A guide which exhibits both library and general resources to support and enhance literature students' coursework and academic experience.

Recommended Databases

Erie Community College is dedicated to offering you access to the widest possible range of resources. You are now able to search our collection and the collections of many other libraries worldwide using WorldCat, the world's largest network of library-based content and services. Note that global WorldCat results may include many resources not owned by Erie Community College. You may be able to obtain these items from a nearby library or through our resource-sharing network—click the "Request Item" button on the WorldCat record.

JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

Literary Reference Center Plus is a comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day.

Literature Resource Center is useful for gathering information on literature. Available resources include criticism, plot summaries, author biographies, and links to Web sites.

Gale Literary Sources (formerly Artemis) is a cross platform research tool. It includes GVRL, LitFinder and Literature Resource Center.

Searching the Library with Primo

Access all of the library's resources via the PRIMO SEARCH on the library homepage. For a broad search, type your terms into the search box and click "Search". This will retrieve a wide variety of content including books and e-books, newspaper, magazine, and journal articles and even video and audio recordings. Primo will also allow you to search the library holdings of all other SUNY institutions. You can request to borrow any of these items via Inter-Library Loan.