Beyond ADHD weaves Emmerson's personal story of his ADHD diagnosis, exploring along the way the latest medical, scientific and societal explanations and tools for managing and living with the condition. Including interviews with a number of experts at the forefront of next-generation ADHD diagnostics and treatment, he questions the cookie-cutter way ADHD is commonly diagnosed and treated. Suggesting that the list of symptoms often used to identify ADHD can be attributed to many other disorders and conditions, he explores how and why ADHD diagnoses have increased by 50% in the last ten years. Emmerson advocates a different approach to ADHD, arguing that it should be a diagnosis of exclusion rather than the other way around, and that we must look past the label, recognizing that individual symptoms vary and treatment plans should be better tailored to the individual.

One out of every 10 adult psychotherapy clients likely has ADHD. Due to high comorbidities with depression, anxiety, substance abuse, and other mental disorders, along with considerable behavioral dysfunction, adult ADHD is even more common in clinical populations than the general public. When an ADHD diagnosis is missed, psychotherapy is often frustrating and less effective.Could it be Adult ADHD? is for mental health professionals who wish to learn how to recognize, assess, and treat adult ADHD. Written in a style maximally accessible to the practicing mental health professional, this book educates early-career psychotherapists and experienced professionals alike on the disorder and its treatment.

Most people have heard of post-partum depression. What many people do not know is that anxiety and depression can be experienced during pregnancy, as well, and the impact can be both debilitating and devastating. This book is a unique combination of one woman's story of her struggle with perinatal distress and actionable advice from a professional in the field. Rebecca Fox Starr shares her personal story of marriage, motherhood, prenatal anxiety and depression, severe postpartum anxiety and depression, recovery process and hope for the future. Woven throughout the narrative, Dr. Amy Wenzel, a specialist in the field of Perinatal Mood Disorders, provides readers with clinical information and advice, addressing risk factors, warning signs, definitions and recovery options.

Combining a scholar's care and thoroughness with searing personal insight, David A. Karp brings the private experience of depression into sharp relief, drawing on a remarkable series of intimate interviews with fifty depressed men and women. By turns poignant, disturbing, mordantly funny, and wise, Karp's interviews cause us to marvel at the courage of depressed people in dealing with extraordinary and debilitating pain. We hear what depression feels like, what it means to receive an "official" clinical diagnosis, and what depressed persons think of the battalion of mental health experts- doctors, nurses, social workers, sociologists, psychologists, and therapists - employed to help them.

As a therapist, Gretchen Schmelzer has watched far too many people quit during treatment for trauma recovery. They find it too difficult or frightening or they decide that it's just too late for them. So she wrote Journey Through Trauma specifically for survivors - to help them understand the terrain of the healing process and stay on the path. Ultimately, the healing journey is one of trust as survivors come to trust their capacity to rely on help from others and to trust themselves and the work they have done.

Trauma touches every life, but the way that we hold our pain makes a difference. Mindfulness Skills for Trauma and PTSD provides user-friendly descriptions of the many facets of traumatic stress alongside evidence-based strategies to manage trauma symptoms and build new strengths. This book is a valuable resource for trauma survivors, health professionals, researchers, mindfulness practitioners, and others seeking new pathways to recovery and resilience.

A concise, accessible introduction to anxiety covering everything from its causes to its symptoms, available treatment options, and prevention. * Addresses some of the strategies that people can apply to help themselves to reduce or mitigate stress * Includes coverage of recent research and theories about anxiety * Analyzes psychological and biological responses to stress * Reveals the truth behind myths about anxiety * Features case studies of people living with anxiety disorders

Whenever people are nervous about interacting with others, they're told, "Just be yourself!" But that is easier said than done--especially if you also suffer from social anxiety. You might say you're just introverted or bad with people; that you're fine around friends but feel like you can't speak up in a board meeting or a mingling event; or maybe you never would have considered yourselves socially anxious but have recently moved or started a new job, only to become isolated and unsure. But Dr. Ellen Hendriksen proposes a groundbreaking idea: you already have everything you need to succeed in any unfamiliar social situation. As someone who lives with social anxiety herself, Dr. Hendriksen has devoted her career to helping her patients overcome the same obstacles she has. With both familiarity and authority, Dr. Hendriksen talks the reader through the roots of social anxiety and why it endures; how it's wired into our brains and how we can change our brains through our behavior; and how to quiet your Inner Critic (the voice that says, You can't).

All aspects of eating disorders and obesity are addressed by foremost clinical researchers: classification, causes, consequences, risk factors, and pathophysiology, as well as prevention, treatment, assessment, and diagnosis. New to This Edition *Reflects 15 years of important advances in both fields, including state-of-the-art intervention approaches and a growing focus on how the brain regulates eating behavior. *Dozens of entirely new chapters. *New topics: epigenetics, body weight and neurocognitive function, stress and emotion regulation, the gut microbiome, surgical devices for obesity, food labeling and marketing, and more. *Expanded coverage of prevention and policy.

Food for Thought offers fresh psychoanalytic insights into treating clients with eating disorders. In lively and jargon-free language, Nina Savelle-Rocklin breaks down the psychoanalytic approach to give practitioners and general readers alike a deeper understanding of the theory and effective treatment of eating disorders. Those living with eating disorders often use food to express their inner feelings, and Savelle-Rocklin illustrates the importance of the therapeutic relationship in uncovering the nature of these internal emotions, and formulating them into words.

The first book to examine the science behind both mild and extreme compulsive behavior--using fascinating case studies to understand its deeper meaning and reveal the truth about human compulsion. Whether shopping with military precision or hanging the tea towels just so, compulsion is something most of us have witnessed in daily life. But compulsions exist along a broad continuum, and at the opposite end of these mild forms exist life altering disorders.

You are not your thoughts! In this powerful book, two anxiety experts offer proven-effective cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) skills to help you get unstuck from disturbing thoughts, overcome the shame these thoughts can bring, and reduce your anxiety.If you suffer from unwanted, intrusive, frightening, or even disturbing thoughts, you might worry about what these thoughts mean about you. Thoughts can seem like messages are they trying to tell you something? But the truth is that they are just thoughts, and don t necessarily mean anything. Sane and good people have them. If you are someone who is plagued by thoughts you don t want thoughts that scare you, or thoughts you can t tell anyone about this book may change your life.In this compassionate guide, you ll discover the different kinds of disturbing thoughts, myths that surround your thoughts, and how your brain has a tendency to get stuck in a cycle of unwanted rumination.

Mood disorders are now seen to form a spectrum of problems, from common depression on one end to full bipolar disorder on the other. In between these extremes are multitudes of people who are on the middle of the mood spectrum, and this book is for them. The first part of the book helps readers answer the question, "Where am I on the mood spectrum?" By laying the foundation for understanding this spectrum, Aiken and Phelps highlight the key distinctions that define unipolarity, bipolarity, hypomania, mania, and depression. Readers will be able to discern which definition best fits their experience, and use this understanding to learn which treatment methods will work best. The authors also empower readers to look beyond antidepressants. They walk readers through new medications for the mood spectrum, and offer a guide to non-medication treatments that anyone can use on their own, from diet and lifestyle changes to natural supplements. The book also discusses other innovative technologies that can aid in recovery, including dawn simulators, mood apps, and blue-light filters.

Rock Steady offers a self-help survival guide of tips, tricks and tools by someone who has been through it all and come through stronger for it.

A leading neuroscientist and pioneer in the study of mindfulness explains why addictions are so tenacious and how we can learn to conquer them We are all vulnerable to addiction. Whether it's a compulsion to constantly check social media, binge eating, smoking, excessive drinking, or any other behaviors, we may find ourselves uncontrollably repeating. Why are bad habits so hard to overcome? Is there a key to conquering the cravings we know are unhealthy for us? This book provides groundbreaking answers to the most important questions about addiction. Dr. Judson Brewer, a psychiatrist and neuroscientist who has studied the science of addictions for twenty years, reveals how we can tap into the very processes that encourage addictive behaviors in order to step out of them.

Packed with tested strategies and practical tips, this book is the essential, life-changing guide for everyone who owns a smartphone. Is your phone the first thing you reach for in the morning and the last thing you touch before bed? Do you frequently pick it up "just to check," only to look up forty-five minutes later wondering where the time has gone? Do you say you want to spend less time on your phone--but have no idea how to do so without giving it up completely? If so, this book is your solution. Award-winning journalist Catherine Price presents a practical, hands-on plan to break up--and then make up--with your phone. The goal? A long-term relationship that actually feels good. You'll discover how phones and apps are designed to be addictive, and learn how the time we spend on them damages our abilities to focus, think deeply, and form new memories. You'll then make customized changes to your settings, apps, environment, and mindset that will ultimately enable you to take back control of your life.

What is self-harm and what causes it? Learn the terms and concepts related to this type of behavior. Provides an in-depth history of self-harm behavior that provides a relatable perspective for the reader Offers realistic and common case samples that promote better understanding Explains how anyone concerned about a self-injurious loved one can best confront the behavior and offers tips on how to provide support Devotes significant attention to controversial areas such as the prevalence of self-injury in school settings, addresses the use of psychopharmacology in treating the behavior, and gives an overview of effective techniques for treatment

Discovering that your teen "cuts" is every parent's nightmare. Your most urgent question is: "How can I make it stop?" Tens of thousands of worried parents have turned to this authoritative guide for information and practical guidance about the growing problem of teen self-injury. Dr. Michael Hollander is a leading expert on dialectical behavior therapy (DBT), the most effective treatment approach for cutting. Vivid stories illustrate how out-of-control emotions lead some teens to hurt themselves, how DBT can help, and what other approaches can be beneficial.