Public Health

What "Promoting Healthy Lifestyles" entails

Promoting healthy lifestyles includes the implementation of campaigns, programs, and/or legislation that serve to limit health disparities, promote healthcare equity, quality and accessibility. This page will offer a variety of resources—including web resources, online databases, journals, and books (e-books & print) on this key sub-topic of Public Health.

Web Resources

Databases & Journals

Databases (available online via Primo)

Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Contains consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.

Journals (peer reviewed and available online)

Health & Medicine Week - examines health and medicine news from across the industry. Coverage includes the latest developments for the health-minded professional or consumer on topics ranging from government and private clinical trials and drug introductions to illness and disease research from around the world.

Public Health Nutrition - provides an international peer-reviewed forum for the publication and dissemination of research and scholarship aimed at understanding the causes of, and approaches and solutions to, nutrition-related public health achievements, situations and problems around the world. The journal publishes original and commissioned articles, commentaries and discussion papers for debate.