LibGuides: Public Health: Researching Disease and Injury Prevention

What "researching disease and injury prevention" entails

Researching disease and injury prevention includes just that: research for the purpose of prevention. This page will offer a variety of resources—including web resources, online databases, journals, and books (e-books & print) on this key sub-topic of Public Health.

Web Resources

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The up-to-date and authoritative US government-issued website.
Partnership for the Public Good
Local community-based think tank that provides research and advocacy support to a broad range of partners.
PubMed Central
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
National Institutes of Health
The primary agency of the United States government responsible for biomedical and public health research.
National Library of Medicine
Operated by the United States federal government, the world's largest medical library.
National Center for Biotechnology Information
Part of the United States National Library of Medicine, a branch of the National Institutes of Health, NCBI advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

Databases & Journals

Databases (available online via Primo)

Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes scientific, technical, medical, and social science information from Elsevier Science and other publishers.
Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic. Complimentary COVID-19 trial access.
Buffalo News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to the The Buffalo New (1989-current) provided by NewsBank.
NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
NewsBank Access World News features print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos from over 3000 sources, including the Buffalo News and other NY newspapers. Also includes Special Reports and Current Events.

Journals (peer reviewed & available online)

International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health - an interdisciplinary, peer reviewed, open access journal published semimonthly online by MDPI. It covers Environmental Sciences and Engineering, Public Health, Environmental Health, Occupational Hygiene, Health Economic and Global Health Research, etc.

Public Health Reports - the official journal of the Office of the U.S. Surgeon General and the U.S. Public Health Service. The journal is peer-reviewed and publishes original research, reviews, and commentaries related to public health practice and methodology, public health law, and teaching at schools and programs of public health.

Scientific Reports - an online peer-reviewed open access scientific mega journal published by Nature Research, covering all areas of the natural sciences.

PLos One - PLOS One is a peer-reviewed open access scientific journal published by the Public Library of Science since 2006. The journal covers primary research from any discipline within science and medicine.

Nutrients - an open access peer-reviewed scientific journal publishing reviews, regular research papers, and short communications on all aspects of nutrition.

Environmental Science and Pollution Research International - serves the international community in all areas of Environmental Science and related subjects with emphasis on chemical compounds. It reports from a broad interdisciplinary outlook. Apart from the strictly scientific contributions as research articles (short and full papers) and reviews, ESPR publishes: news & views from research and technology, legislation and regulation, hardware and software, education, literature, institutions, organizations, conferences.