It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HT105/HT106 - Reis: HT106 - Current Issues in Health
Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
Junk Raft by Marcus EriksenNews media brought the "Great Pacific Garbage Patch"-the famous swirling gyre of plastic pollution in the ocean-into the public consciousness. But when Marcus Eriksen cofounded the 5 Gyres Institute with his wife, Anna Cummins, and set out to study the world's oceans with hundreds of volunteers, they discovered a "plastic smog" of microscopic debris that permeates our oceans globally, defying simple clean-up efforts. What's more, these microplastics and their toxic chemistry have seeped into the food chain, threatening marine life and humans alike. Far from being a gloomy treatise on an environmental catastrophe, though, Junk Rafttells the exciting story of Eriksen and his team's fight to solve the problem of plastic pollution. A scientist, activist, and inveterate adventurer, Eriksen is drawn to the sea by a desire to right an environmental injustice. Against long odds and common sense, he and his co-navigator, Joel Paschal, construct a "junk raft" made of plastic trash and set themselves adrift from Los Angeles to Hawaii, with no motor or support vessel, confronting perilous cyclones, food shortages, and a fast decaying raft. As Eriksen recounts his struggles to keep afloat, he immerses readers in the deep history of the plastic pollution crisis and the movement that has arisen to combat it. The proliferation of cheap plastic products during the twentieth century has left the world awash in trash. Meanwhile, the plastics industry, with its lobbying muscle, fights tooth and nail against any changes that would affect its lucrative status quo, instead defending poorly designed products and deflecting responsibility for the harm they cause. But, as Eriksen shows, the tide is turning in the battle to save the world's oceans. He recounts the successful efforts that he and many other activists are waging to fight corporate influence and demand that plastics producers be held accountable. Junk Raftprovides concrete, actionable solutions and an empowering message- it's within our power to change the throw-away culture for the sake of our planet.
Call Number: GC1471 .E75 2017
Publication Date: 2018-06-05
Faces of Recovery by Eric NewhouseFaces of Recovery continues the report on how millions of American soldiers have faced the ultimate dilemma: kill the enemy or risk being killed yourself. As documented in Eric Newhouse's earlier book, Faces of Combat, PTSD & TBI, each choice traumatizes the brain. The trauma is cumulative; prolonged combat increases emotional and physical injury. This book also introduces a newly discovered complication, moral injury. It occurs when soldiers are ordered into a conflict they cannot morally justify, yet are forced to kill others to stay alive themselves. It happens when soldiers feel their chain of command has betrayed or abandoned them. It can also occur when a soldier has violated their own moral code, for example by killing civilians to avenge the death of friends, or when they fail to protect the buddies who have been watching their backs. Faces of Recovery looks at the personal steps each veteran must take to feel accepted again in society.
Call Number: RC552.P67 N4783 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-01
Science of Stress Management by Amitava DasguptaStress is an inevitable part of everyday life. Sometimes we manage it well. Other times, not so much. But understanding the role of stress in our overall health and wellness is essential to taking it head-on. It's not just that stress can take over our thoughts; it can take over our bodies. From the flight or fight response to inflammation, from feeling anxious to feeling sick, it can deteriorate our bodies and our minds from the inside out. While many books promise tips on managing stress, this book takes it one step further to consider the science behind stress and how it affects our minds and bodies, offering evidence-based approaches to managing stress for optimum results. Amitava Dasgupta guides readers to a greater understanding of the mechanisms at work when stress is present and provides guidance for dealing with those physical and mental responses. While grounded in the science of stress, this work also helps readers employ those strategies that will best manage stress for better overall health.
Call Number: BF575.S75 D267 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-12
Handbook of Stress, Coping, and Health by Virginia Hill Rice (Editor)This is the first comprehensive Handbook to examine the various models of stress, coping, and health and their relevance to nursing and related health fields. No other volume provides a compendium of key issues in stress and coping for the nursing and allied health professions. In this new edition, the authors assembles a team of expert practitioners and scholars in the field to present the broad range of issues that relate to stress and health such as response-oriented stress, stimulus-oriented stress, stress, coping, and health in children, family health, beliefs and cultural attitudes, and more. In itsFirst Edition, this Handbook was highly praised for its analysis and critique of existing models and its discussion of new research surrounding self-regulation and stress. This Second Edition continues to provide a critical analysis of the field while providing cutting-edge research.
Call Number: QP82.2.S8 H357 2012
Publication Date: 2011-12-05
Cell Phone/ App Addiction
From Smartphones to Social Media by Mark CarrierThis book examines how today's technology, as it includes smartphones, computers, and the internet, shapes our physical health, cognitive and psychological development, and interactions with one another and the world around us. * Addresses a topic of interest and of increasing concern for researchers, parents, and educators * Examines both the positive and negative effects of technology across many aspects of physical, psychological, and social health * Provides real-world examples through case studies to illustrate key concepts discussed in the book * Offers additional information through interviews with experts in an accessible Q&A format
Call Number: HM851 .C367 2018
Publication Date: 2018-10-18
Addiction and Drugs
Addiction by Howard Padwa (Editor); Jacob Cunningham (Editor)A reference guide that answers the questions people have about addiction and addictive behaviors of all kinds, including drugs, alcohol, gambling, sex, Internet usage, and more. * Comprises 127 A-Z entries on major individuals, concepts, laws, organizations, and events in the history of addiction in the United States * 17 primary source documents highlight major ideas and developments in the history of addiction in the United States * Offers suggestions for further reading for readers interested in learning more about the topics examined in the encyclopedia
Call Number: HV5825 .P26 2010
Publication Date: 2010-01-18
Drug Abuse Sourcebook by Keith Jones (Editor)Provides basic consumer health information about the abuse of illegal drugs and misuse of prescription and over-the-counter medications, with facts about addiction, treatment, and recovery. Includes index, glossary of related terms and directory of resources.
Call Number: HV5801 .D724 2016
Publication Date: 2016-05-01
Something to Chew On by Mike GibneyAn informative and entertaining book, which examines all of the worldwide controversies dominating the popular press in relation to the modern food chain, from a scientific perspective.