Library Resource Center
Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
Contains consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Focuses on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Provides full text articles for more than 180 international, peer-reviewed journals and reports.
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Covers of nursing and allied health.
Includes scientific, technical, medical, and social science information from Elsevier Science and other publishers.
Stress
Stress-Related Disorders Sourcebook by
Provides basic consumer health information about the physical and mental health effects of stress and trauma, related therapies and stress management techniques, and coping tips for adults and children. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Science of Stress Management by
Stress is an inevitable part of everyday life. Sometimes we manage it well. Other times, not so much. But understanding the role of stress in our overall health and wellness is essential to taking it head-on. It's not just that stress can take over our thoughts; it can take over our bodies. From the flight or fight response to inflammation, from feeling anxious to feeling sick, it can deteriorate our bodies and our minds from the inside out. While many books promise tips on managing stress, this book takes it one step further to consider the science behind stress and how it affects our minds and bodies, offering evidence-based approaches to managing stress for optimum results. Amitava Dasgupta guides readers to a greater understanding of the mechanisms at work when stress is present and provides guidance for dealing with those physical and mental responses. While grounded in the science of stress, this work also helps readers employ those strategies that will best manage stress for better overall health.
Handbook of Stress, Coping, and Health by
This is the first comprehensive Handbook to examine the various models of stress, coping, and health and their relevance to nursing and related health fields. No other volume provides a compendium of key issues in stress and coping for the nursing and allied health professions. In this new edition, the authors assembles a team of expert practitioners and scholars in the field to present the broad range of issues that relate to stress and health such as response-oriented stress, stimulus-oriented stress, stress, coping, and health in children, family health, beliefs and cultural attitudes, and more. In itsFirst Edition, this Handbook was highly praised for its analysis and critique of existing models and its discussion of new research surrounding self-regulation and stress. This Second Edition continues to provide a critical analysis of the field while providing cutting-edge research.
Mindfulness
The Art and Science of Mindfulness by
Intention is fundamental to any project, endeavor, or journey. Related to intention is the concept of mindfulness -- the awareness that arises through intentionally attending to oneself and others in an open, caring, and nonjudgmental way. Authors Shapiro and Carlson draw from Eastern wisdom and practices as well as Western psychological theory and science to explore why mindful awareness is integral to the therapeutic healing process and to show clinicians how to connect with this deeper awareness. This second edition is an accessible discussion of the fundamentals and also contains new sections describing the latest research on the neuroscience of mindfulness and mechanisms of change. Integrating the art and science of mindfulness to inspire greater well-being in both clinicians and their patients, this volume bridges a gap between therapist and patient, reminding us that we are all human beings wanting health, happiness, and freedom from suffering.
STDs
Sexually Transmitted Diseases Sourcebook by
Provides basic consumer health information about risk factors, symptoms, testing, and treatment of sexually transmitted infections, along with prevention guidelines. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Sexually Transmitted Disease by
This up-to-date, two-volume work provides A-Z coverage of all topics related to sexually transmitted disease, ranging from anatomy to modern legal and social implications to past and present methods of prevention, diagnosis, and treatment. * Supplies a wide spectrum of information about sexually transmitted diseases, ranging from their microscopic origins to the researchers who discovered them to their transmission, diagnosis, and treatment, and the long-term medical consequences of infection * Includes up-to-date, accurate, and evidence-based recommendations and statistics regarding recent vaccines, prevention, diagnoses, treatments, legal implications, and effects on specific groups, including adolescents, the LGBTQ community, seniors, and others * Represents the sum knowledge of practicing physicians, legal experts, and academics across the United States
Plastics/Microbeads
Junk Raft by
News media brought the "Great Pacific Garbage Patch"-the famous swirling gyre of plastic pollution in the ocean-into the public consciousness. But when Marcus Eriksen cofounded the 5 Gyres Institute with his wife, Anna Cummins, and set out to study the world's oceans with hundreds of volunteers, they discovered a "plastic smog" of microscopic debris that permeates our oceans globally, defying simple clean-up efforts. What's more, these microplastics and their toxic chemistry have seeped into the food chain, threatening marine life and humans alike. Far from being a gloomy treatise on an environmental catastrophe, though, Junk Rafttells the exciting story of Eriksen and his team's fight to solve the problem of plastic pollution. A scientist, activist, and inveterate adventurer, Eriksen is drawn to the sea by a desire to right an environmental injustice. Against long odds and common sense, he and his co-navigator, Joel Paschal, construct a "junk raft" made of plastic trash and set themselves adrift from Los Angeles to Hawaii, with no motor or support vessel, confronting perilous cyclones, food shortages, and a fast decaying raft. As Eriksen recounts his struggles to keep afloat, he immerses readers in the deep history of the plastic pollution crisis and the movement that has arisen to combat it. The proliferation of cheap plastic products during the twentieth century has left the world awash in trash. Meanwhile, the plastics industry, with its lobbying muscle, fights tooth and nail against any changes that would affect its lucrative status quo, instead defending poorly designed products and deflecting responsibility for the harm they cause. But, as Eriksen shows, the tide is turning in the battle to save the world's oceans. He recounts the successful efforts that he and many other activists are waging to fight corporate influence and demand that plastics producers be held accountable. Junk Raftprovides concrete, actionable solutions and an empowering message- it's within our power to change the throw-away culture for the sake of our planet.
Code from these LibGuides pages are a derivative of LibGuides code by UC Santa Cruz University Library, used under CC BY.
