LibGuides: HI 115: History of Poverty in America: Primary Sources

Finding Primary Sources

SUNY Erie Library Resources (ECC only, requires login)

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
A vast full-text collection of more than 6,500 historical periodicals published in the United States between 1693 and 1912, documenting the life of America’s people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction and into the early 20th century.
Harpweek - The Civil War Era This link opens in a new window
Electronic version of the Harper's Weekly newspaper from 1857 to 1865.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law brings together, for the first time, all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world, as well as materials on free African-Americans in the colonies and the U.S. before 1870. Included are every statute passed by every state and colony, all federal statutes, all reported state and federal cases on slavery, and hundreds of books and pamphlets on the subject.

Statistical Abstracts of the United States
Data and statistics on the United States social and economic conditions, 1889-2011.

Online Resources (no login required)

American Memory - Library of Congress
Primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States.
Making of America-University of Michigan
Approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. Searchable.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Decennial Census of Population and Housing
Information on the US Decennial Census going back to the first census in 1790.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
The U.S. Department of Commerce. Promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Statistical Abstracts of the United States was an annual publication describing social and economic conditions 1889-2010.
New Deal Resources - Library of Congress
Overview of special collections held by the Library of Congress and links to digitized materials and selected resources relating to New Deal programs in Library of Congress divisions. The guide also links to major collections of New Deal program materials held at other institutions.
Inflation Calculator
How much has the value of money changed over time? Use this calculator to find out!