Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Articles and Literary Criticism
These databases have resources on a variety of literary topics, including author biographies, literary criticism, and book reviews.
An SUNY Erie login is required to access articles from home.
Gale Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. It features extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Academic Search Complete
Contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.
Gale Literary Sources
Gale Literary Sources is a cross platform research tool. It includes GVRL, LitFinder and Literature Resource Center.
Humanities Full Text provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas and more.
Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work
Literature Resource Center
Useful for gathering information on literature, including criticism, plot summaries, author biographies, and links to Web sites.
International in scope, this resource contains a wealth of primary literature content spanning all time periods
Books on Literature
Use Primo to find more books. You may borrow books for 30 days with a valid SUNY Erie ID card.
Critical Approaches to Literature - Feminist by
Call Number: Erie North Library PN56.F46 C75 2018 (also available online)
The Critical Approaches series focuses on one type of literary criticism commonly studied in introductory literature classes. It defines the approach, introduces its genesis, and provides an overview of the leading practitioners within this area of scholarship. Essays then model the approach for students by examining a variety of works--novels, plays, films, and poems. Each volume contains an appendix, which provides prescriptive tools for what to look for when examining works using the particular approach.
The Literature Book by
Call Number: Erie City Library PN45 .L52 2016
A global look at the greatest works of Eastern and Western literature and the themes that unite them, for students and lovers of literature and reading. The Literature Book is a fascinating journey through the greatest works of world literature, from the Iliad to Don Quixote to The Great Gatsby. Around 100 crystal-clear articles explore landmark novels, short stories, plays, and poetry that reinvented the art of writing in their time, whether Ancient Greece, post-classical Europe, or modern-day Korea.
The Norton Anthology of Western Literature by
Call Number: Erie City Library PN6014 .N66 2014 (also available at South)
A completely new editorial team, dozens of new selections and translations, all-new introductions and headnotes, hundreds of illustrations, redesigned maps and timelines, and a completely revamped media program all add up to the most exciting, accessible, and teachable version of "the Norton" ever published.
|call the library: