LibGuides: College Archives: Collections and Finding Aids

Finding Aids

According to the Society of American Archivists, a finding aid is "a tool that facilitates discovery of information within a collection of records." A finding aid helps a patron decide which collections will be useful to them and which materials within that collection they would like to see.

Board of Trustees records, 1947-2013
Meeting minutes and other records from the Erie Community College Board of Trustees.
Erie Community College Athletics, Mary Jo Monnin papers, 1948-2007
Historical materials related to Erie Community College Athletics, as compiled by Mary Jo Monnin for her book Kat Tales: 60 Years of Erie Community College Athletics.
Erie Community College budgets, 1948-2008
Erie Community College budgets.
Literary magazines, 1962-2011
Publications containing art, poetry, and fiction created by Erie Community College students.
Office of the President records, 1946-2005
Administrative files from the Office of the President.

Digital Collections

SUNY Erie Community College Newspapers, 1985-2011
This collection contains digital copies of various iterations of SUNY Erie Community College student newspapers published between 1985 and 2011. Includes the City Campus newspaper Downtown Student Press (1985-1999), as well as the all-campus newspapers Trilink (1999), Downtown Student Voice (1999-2000), and ECC Student Voice (2001-2011).
This project was funded under the Access and Innovation Grant through a member project grant from the Regional Bibliographic Data Bases and Interlibrary Resources Sharing Program (RBDB) awarded to the Western New York Library Resources Council (WNYLRC) by the New York State Education Department.
A Verbal History of Erie Community College
Contains digital sound and text from James E. Shenton’s "A Verbal History of Erie Community College," 1982. Shenton, who served as Erie Community College's President from 1963 to 1974, worked with Library Coordinator Sylvia Moran and Principle Library Clerk Margaret Barrey to record the history of the College from its inception in 1946 to his retirement in August, 1974. Audio recordings and transcript documents digitized in 2011 by College Librarian Matthew M. Best.
This project was funded under the Access and Innovation Grant through a member project grant from the Regional Bibliographic Data Bases and Interlibrary Resources Sharing Program (RBDB) awarded to the Western New York Library Resources Council (WNYLRC) by the New York State Education Department.

More information about this collection can be found in the A Verbal History of Erie Community College research guide.

Student Newspapers

General
B.T.I. News, 1947-1953
The Institooter, 1954-1969
The Element, 1969-1982
TriLink, 1999-2000
ECC Student Voice, 2001-2008

South Campus
Prometheon, 1974-1992
Southern Mirror, 1986-1998

City Campus
City Campus News, 1970-1975
The Stage, 1975-1980
The Oracle, 1980-1981
City Landmark Express, 1982
Downtown Student Press, 1982-1991

North Campus
Communique, 1982-1985
Northstar, 1985-1999

Browse Local Collections

New York State Historic Newspapers
The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history. This is created and administered by the Northern New York Library Network in partnership with the Empire State Library Network.
New York Heritage
New York Heritage Digital Collections features a broad range of materials that present a glimpse into our state’s history and culture. Over 350 libraries, museums, archives, and other cultural institutions make their collections available in our repository. These primary source materials span the range of New York State’s history, from the colonial era to present. Our stories are told through photographs, letters, diaries, directories, maps, books, and more.
more...less...
New York Heritage is a collaborative project of eight of the nine Empire State Library Network library councils: Capital District Library Council, Central New York Library Resources Council, Long Island Library Resources Council, Northern New York Library Network, Rochester Regional Library Council, Southeastern New York Library Resources Council, South Central Regional Library Council, and Western New York Library Resources Council.
Empire Archival Discovery Cooperative
The Empire Archival Discovery Cooperative (EmpireADC) helps connect researchers with physical archival materials in repositories across New York state. By searching our finding aids, or guides to archival collections, you can discover relevant materials held by a variety of libraries, archives and cultural heritage organizations. EmpireADC is provided by the Empire State Library Network (ESLN) and participating repositories.