This clear and concise new introduction examines all the major debates and issues using a wide range of well-known examples. It discusses the challenge of using verbal and written language to analyse a visual form. Dana Arnold also examines the many different ways of writing about art, and thechanging boundaries of the subject of art history. Topics covered include the canon of Art History, the role of the gallery, 'blockbuster' exhibitions, the emergence of social histories of art (Feminist Art History or Queer Art History, for example), the impact of photography, and the development ofArt History using artefacts such as the altarpiece, the portrait, or pornography, to explore social and cultural issues such as consumption, taste, religion, and politics.Importantly, this book explains how the traditional emphasis on periods and styles originates in western art production and can obscure other critical approaches, as well as art from non western cultures.

GARDNER'S ART THROUGH THE AGES: A GLOBAL HISTORY, VOLUME I provides you with a comprehensive, beautifully illustrated tour of the world's great artistic traditions! Easy to read and understand, the 15th edition of the most widely read art history book in the English language continues to evolve, providing a rich cultural backdrop for each of the covered periods and geographical locations, and incorporating new artists and art forms -- all reproduced according to the highest standards of clarity and color fidelity. A complete online learning environment, including all images and an eBook, also is available. The unique Scale feature will help you better visualize the actual size of the artworks shown in the book. "The Big Picture" overviews at the end of every chapter summarize the chapter's important concepts.

This is a key book for the study and enjoyment of Western art. This seventh edition has been revised and expanded and six new authors have been selected. Every image from the previous edition has been enhanced/refreshed using modern imaging technology.

GARDNER'S ART THROUGH THE AGES: THE WESTERN PERSPECTIVE, VOLUME I, gives you the tools to master your course material. A unique scale feature will help you better visualize the actual size of the artworks shown in the book. Within each chapter, the "Framing the Era" overviews, timeline, extended captions, and the chapter summary section titled "The Big Picture" will help you review for exams. In addition, MindTap for this 15th edition of GARDNER'S ART THROUGH THE AGES provides an interactive digital experience for exploration, study, and development of critical-thinking skills. It includes an interactive eBook with note taking capability, zoomable versions of images included within the text, over 100 videos, audio resources, image flashcards, a Guide to Studying, quizzes and critical-thinking questions, and much more.

This clear and concise new introduction examines all the major debates and issues using a wide range of well-known examples. It discusses the challenge of using verbal and written language to analyse a visual form. Dana Arnold also examines the many different ways of writing about art, and thechanging boundaries of the subject of art history. Topics covered include the canon of Art History, the role of the gallery, 'blockbuster' exhibitions, the emergence of social histories of art (Feminist Art History or Queer Art History, for example), the impact of photography, and the development ofArt History using artefacts such as the altarpiece, the portrait, or pornography, to explore social and cultural issues such as consumption, taste, religion, and politics.Importantly, this book explains how the traditional emphasis on periods and styles originates in western art production and can obscure other critical approaches, as well as art from non western cultures.

GARDNER'S ART THROUGH THE AGES: A GLOBAL HISTORY, VOLUME I provides you with a comprehensive, beautifully illustrated tour of the world's great artistic traditions! Easy to read and understand, the 15th edition of the most widely read art history book in the English language continues to evolve, providing a rich cultural backdrop for each of the covered periods and geographical locations, and incorporating new artists and art forms -- all reproduced according to the highest standards of clarity and color fidelity. A complete online learning environment, including all images and an eBook, also is available. The unique Scale feature will help you better visualize the actual size of the artworks shown in the book. "The Big Picture" overviews at the end of every chapter summarize the chapter's important concepts.

GARDNER'S ART THROUGH THE AGES: THE WESTERN PERSPECTIVE, VOLUME I, gives you the tools to master your course material. A unique scale feature will help you better visualize the actual size of the artworks shown in the book. Within each chapter, the "Framing the Era" overviews, timeline, extended captions, and the chapter summary section titled "The Big Picture" will help you review for exams. In addition, MindTap for this 15th edition of GARDNER'S ART THROUGH THE AGES provides an interactive digital experience for exploration, study, and development of critical-thinking skills. It includes an interactive eBook with note taking capability, zoomable versions of images included within the text, over 100 videos, audio resources, image flashcards, a Guide to Studying, quizzes and critical-thinking questions, and much more.

A complete reprint of a famous, late nineteenth century drawing course.

Anyone who can hold a pencil can learn to draw. In this book, Bert Dodson shares his complete drawing system--fifty-five "keys" that you can use to render any subject with confidence, even if you're a beginner. These keys, along with dozens of practice exercises, will help you draw like an artist in no time.

This book is designed to help the reader gain access to right-brain functions, which affect artistic and creative abilities, by teaching drawing through unusual exercises designed to increase visual skills. It includes updates based on recent research about the brain’s plasticity and the emerging significance of right-brain functioning. It offers new tools for identifying and solving life problems with the visual-thinking skills acquired through drawing. It shows how new emphasis on how the ability to use the strengths of the brain’s right hemisphere can serve as an antidote to the increasing left-brain emphasis in American life, the worship of all that is linear, analytic, and digital.

Even the smartest among us can feel inept as we fail to figure out which light switch or oven burner to turn on, or whether to push, pull, or slide a door. The fault, argues this ingenious-even liberating-book, lies not in ourselves, but in product design that ignores the needs of users and the principles of cognitive psychology. The problems range from ambiguous and hidden controls to arbitrary relationships between controls and functions, coupled with a lack of feedback or other assistance and unreasonable demands on memorization. The Design of Everyday Things shows that good, usable design is possible. The rules are simple: make things visible, exploit natural relationships that couple function and control, and make intelligent use of constraints. The goal: guide the user effortlessly to the right action on the right control at the right time. In this entertaining and insightful analysis, cognitive scientist Don Norman hails excellence of design as the most important key to regaining the competitive edge in influencing consumer behavior. Now fully expanded and updated, with a new introduction by the author, The Design of Everyday Things is a powerful primer on how-and why-some products satisfy customers while others only frustrate them.

DESIGN BASICS is a popular introduction to two-dimensional design. Each concept is presented in a full two- or four-page spread, making the text practical and easy for students to refer to while they work. The modular format also gives instructors the utmost flexibility in organizing their course. Visual examples from many periods, peoples, and cultures are provided for all elements and principles of design, and the diversity of illustrations also includes examples from nature and non-art sources, encouraging students to see these principles in the world.

If Paul Rand was the most influential American graphic designer of the twentieth century, then Paul Rand: A Designer's Art is the most important on his work. A comprehensive collection of his most important and best-known designs, A Designer's Art gives unique insight into Rand's design process and theory. This new edition of Rand's classic monograph, long unavailable, meticulously re-creates the graphic quality of the original. It includes more than two hundred illustrations and twenty-seven essays, and a new afterword by Steven Heller. This book is required reading for anybody interested in modern design.

In Classical Painting Atelier, Aristides, a leader in the atelier movement, takes students step-by-step through the finest works of Old Masters and today's most respected realist artists to reveal the principles of creating full-color realist still lifes, portraits, and figure paintings. Rich in tradition, yet practical for today's artists, Classical Painting Atelier is ideal for serious art students seeking a timeless visual education.

From New York Times best-selling author of the Dinotopia series, James Gurney, comes a carefully crafted and researched study on color and light in paintings. This art instruction book is the follow up to the acclaimed Imaginative Realism: How to Paint What Doesn't Exist. James Gurney, New York Times best-selling author and artist of the Dinotopia series, follows Imaginative Realism with his second art-instruction book, Color and Light: A Guide for the Realist Painter. A researched study on two of art's most fundamental themes, Color and Light bridges the gap between abstract theory and practical knowledge. Beginning with a survey of underappreciated masters who perfected the use of color and light, the book examines how light reveals form, the properties of color and pigments, and the wide variety of atmospheric effects. Gurney cuts though the confusing and contradictory dogma about color, testing it in the light of science and observation. A glossary, pigment index, and bibliography complete what will ultimately become an indispensible tool for any artist. This book is the second in a series based on his blog, gurneyjourney.com. His first in the series, Imaginative Realism, was widely acclaimed in the fantastical art world, and was ranked the #1 Bestseller on the Amazon list for art instruction. "James Gurney's new book, Color and Light, cleverly bridges the gap between artistic observation and scientific explanation. Not only does he eloquently describe all the effects of color and light an artist might encounter, but he thrills us with his striking paintings in the process." --Armand Cabrera, Artist

Grab your paintbrush and discover all the fundamentals of successful painting. A comprehensive overview, The American Artist Guide to Painting Techniques shows you all the techniques you need to know to paint in watercolor, oil, acrylic and pastel. From clear instruction to new painting ideas, this a four-in-one foundation book for every artist interested in improving fundamental painting skills. First, you'll learn 45 painting techniques step-by-step through photographs and valuable tips. Each technique includes specific details for use in oil, acrylic, watercolor, and pastels. Next, you'll discover how to apply the techniques to subjects of particular difficulty, including landscapes, animals, portraits, still lifes, and more. Beginning painters will love the specifics on the unique properties of each painting skill, while intermediate painters will rely on the tips and reference materials to produce outstanding results. An easy-to-navigate resource manual, The American Artist Guide to Painting Techniques provides clear instruction, new painting ideas, and inspiration in encyclopedic detail for any artist picking up a brush.

Fifteen years in preparation, this book offers to the artist & art lover alike the wisdom & technical savvy of a lifetime of painting & teaching. Writing as an acknowledged master, Richard Schmid leads his reader gracefully through the subtleties of painting techniques with refreshing clarity & unmatched technical authority. It also uncovers the full range of artistic subject matter & reveals the one thing a painter must know to capture it all. Above all, Richard writes with deep affection to all who strive for self-expression, regardless of their level of skill. He shares his own struggle from art school to the present & offers the things he has learned with the hope that his reader may enjoy the same passage of discovery. Now in its fourth printing, Alla Prima has been enjoyed by readers (artists) in 37 countries around the world.

Now in paperback, Umberto Eco's groundbreaking and much-acclaimed first illustrated book has been a critical success since its first publication in 2004. What is beauty? Umberto Eco, among Italy's finest and most important contemporary thinkers, explores the nature, the meaning, and the very history of the idea of beauty in Western culture. The profound and subtle text is lavishly illustrated with abundant examples of sublime painting and sculpture and lengthy quotations from writers and philosophers. This is the first paperback edition of History of Beauty, making this intellectual and philosophical journey with one of the world's most acclaimed thinkers available in a more compact and affordable format.

The Story of Art, one of the most famous and popular books on art ever written, has been a world bestseller for over four decades. Attracted by the simplicity and clarity of his writing, readers of all ages and backgrounds have found in Professor Gombrich a true master, and one who combines knowledge and wisdom with a unique gift for communicating his deep love of the subject. For the first time in many years the book has been completely redesigned. The illustrations, now in colour throughout, have all been improved and reoriginated, and include six fold-outs. The text has been revised and updated where appropriate, and a number of significant new artists have been incorporated. The bibliographies have been expanded and updated, and the maps and charts redrawn. The Story of Arthas always been admired for two key qualities: it is a pleasure to read and a pleasure to handle. In these respects the new edition is true to its much-loved predecessors: the text runs as smoothly as ever and the improved illustrations are always on the page where the reader needs them. In its new edition, this classic work continues its triumphant progress tirelessly for yet another generation, to remain the title of first choice for any newcomer to art or the connoisseur.

Art History brings the history of art to life for a new generation of students. It is global in scope, inclusive in its coverage, and warm and welcoming in tone. The guiding vision of Art History is that the teaching of art history survey courses should be filled with equal delight, enjoyment, and serious learning, while fostering an enthusiastic and educated public for the visual arts. The 6th Edition has been revised to reflect new discoveries, recent research, and fresh interpretive perspectives, as well as to address the changing needs of both students and educators.

Animated Storytelling is an approachable and easy-to-follow guide that teaches students how to create memorable stories using animation and motion graphics. The book's friendly tone and boiled-down ideas take them through the stages of concept development, pre-production, storyboarding, and design (including color, world building, and sound) with clear examples and easy-to-follow assignments. With an emphasis on pre-visualization, technique selection, and experimentation, this book provides illustration students, graphic design students, and animation students, with useful tools to help get their designs moving with meaning at any budget.

A New History of Animation guides readers through the history and context of animation from around the world. The book assumes no prior knowledge of the subject and explains all the key technical concepts, filling a gap in the market for a complete and well-researched animation history textbook that can be used by teachers in trade schools and universities worldwide, as well as by readers interested in the story of this evolving medium.Topics covered include: early cinema and the foundations of the animation industry; animation as modern art and the emergence of the major studios; animation during wartime; stop-motion; new audiences for animation, in advertising, television, and games; animation from Eastern Europe; short films; computer-generated animation; international animation from Japan and elsewhere; and animation as an art form.

Animation is one of the hottest and most creative areas of film-making today . During his more than 40 years in the business, Richard Williams has been one of the true innovators, and serves as the link between the golden age of animation by hand and the new computer animation successes. In this book, based on his sold-out Animation Masterclass in the United States and across Europe, Williams provides the underlying principles of animation that very animator - from beginner to expert, classic animator to computer animation whiz - needs. Using hundreds of drawings, Williams distills the secrets of the masters into a working system in order to create a book that has become the standard work on all forms of animation for professionals, students and fans. This new expanded edition includes more on animal action, invention and realism with sophisticated animation examples