Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Research Guide: Getting started

Welcome to the Government Research Guide at Erie Community College. Here you find resources on political science, the branches of the United States Federal Government, and local government resources. 

Search the entire library collection with Primo!

 

USA.gov

USA.gov is the official homepage of the United States government and a guide to government information and services.

Librarian

Melissa Laidman's picture
Melissa Laidman
Contact:
City Campus Library
851-1011

Databases

Military and Government Collection

Provides current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.

NewsBank Access World News

NewsBank Access World News features print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos from over 3000 sources, including the Buffalo News and other NY newspapers. Also includes Special Reports and Current Events.

Governments of the World: A Global Guide to Citizens' Rights and Responsibilities

Governments of the World provides authoritative and up-to-date information on nearly 200 countries' institutions and forms of government.

Social and Economic rights

Federal Government

Federal Government:  Executive (President), Judicial (Supreme Court) and Legislative (House of Representatives & Senate) Branch.

Browse the shelves

E

 General History of U.S., includes political and military history

Political Science

JS 

Local government

JK   

U.S. Political institutions and public administration

U

Military Science

V

Naval Science

Sample subject headings or keywords

Here are suggested subject headings that can be used for Primo and database searches. 

Political history -- United States

Political leadership -- United States

Political psychology

Political science

Politics and government

call the library: City Library North Library South Library
716.851.1074 716.851.1273 716.851.1772