Government Research Guide

Search the Library with Primo

Databases

Below are some recommended databases. You can also browse the complete listing of databases SUNY Erie has subscriptions to here.

Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals. Social Sciences Full Text includes full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. It features extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.

Government Search Engines

FdSys is the official portal of the U.S. Government Printing Office. It offers free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Science.gov is a gateway to government science information and research results. Science.gov is an interagency initiative of 19 U.S. government science organizations within 15 Federal Agencies.
congress.gov contains an online database of legislative information from the Library of Congress.

Print Resources

American political leaders, 1789-2009
Call Number: Ref. E176 .A513 2009 (City Campus)
ISBN: 9781604265378
Encyclopedia of Federal Agencies and Commissions by Hill, Kathleen
Call Number: Ref. JK9 .H536 2004 (City Campus)
ISBN: 0816048436
The presidency A to Z
Call Number: Ref. JK511 .P775 2008 (City Campus)
ISBN: 0872893677
The Pentagon : a history : the untold story of the wartime race to build the Pentagon--and to restore it sixty years later by Vogel, Steve.
Call Number: UA26.A745 V64 2007 (City Campus)
ISBN: 9781400063031
The Thirteen American Arguments:enduring debates that define and inspire our country by Fineman, Howard
ISBN: 9780812976359
E169.1.F524 2009
City Campus Library

Federal Statistics

FedStats is a trusted source of Federal statistical information. The site contains published collections of statistics including the Statistical Abstract of the United States.