Books and Media - Emergency Medical Technology - Paramedic - LibGuides at SUNY Erie Community College

Exam Prep Books

Prep books for both the EMT-basic and EMT-paramedic exams.

Paramedic Certification Exam by LearningExpress Staff
Call Number: RC86.9 .P34 2017
ISBN: 9781611030808
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
This completely revised and updated edition of Paramedic Certification Exam offers targeted preparation to help applicants pass their EMT-certification exam. Inside: - Access to SIX complete practice tests based on the most current National Registry Exam;- Up-to-date and revised review lessons on U.S. DOT/NHTSA curriculum- Hundreds of exam-style practice questions with detailed answer explanations
Barron's EMT by Will Chapleau; Melissa Alexander; Peter Pons
Call Number: RC86.9 .C426 2015
ISBN: 9781438003801
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
Updated to reflect the most recent tests and requirements, this manual prepares candidates for the Emergency Medical Technician Exam, a prerequisite for their qualifying license. Qualifications vary somewhat on a regional basis, but EMT certification is nationally recognized. This manual gives an overview of EMT duties and responsibilities and presents review questions with answers and explanations along with emergency scenarios. Separate chapters cover patient assessment, medical/behavioral emergencies, environmental emergencies, obstetrics/gynecology with new AHA guidelines, trauma, treating infants and children, and ambulance operation in emergencies. Two full-length practice EMT Basic Exams that reflect the test administered by the U.S. Department of Transportation are also included with answers and explanations.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, etc.

The following examples are part of the SUNY Erie libraries' electronic book collections, Credo Reference and Gale Virtual Reference.

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying
Covering all aspects of death and dying -- biological, medical, social, sociological, psychological, religious, and philosophical -- the 2-vol. Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying also provides a deep historical and cross-cultural perspective through the ages.
Conducting a search of "EMT" in the "search within publication" box on the right side will bring up articles on Resuscitation and Emergency Medical Technicians.
Merriam-Webster's Medical Dictionary
A concise, up-to-date guide to the essential language of medicine. Contains More than 38,000 entries and covers the latest brand names and generic equivalents of common drugs.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health
provides more than 1,000 entries covering topics in nursing and allied health written for students and professionals in the field. Alphabetically arranged entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. Covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, and respiratory therapy.
Wilderness Medicine
For Your Interest: From the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, this article shows symptoms and situations of "wilderness" trauma and crucial steps to take in administering medical care. Look over Primary and Secondary Assessment sections, the Key Terms box, and info on first responder certifications in the last paragraph of the article, as well as the web links to organizations under the "Resources"