LibGuides: U.S. History: Articles

Articles -- Databases and more

Databases can be a fantastic source for articles (scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and other publications). As a researcher you need to select the one(s) containing sources relevant to your topic. Here are some suggestions.

1. Start with the All Subjects tab. Identify and link to the appropriate subject area for your topic

2. Review the Subjects list. The brief description will help you identify other possibilities for your search.

3. Looking for a specific publication? Search the Journal Finder. For history selection History & Archaeology. It will identify relevant publications and link you directly to that publication in the database.

Depending on the aspect or approach to your topic, other article databases may be solid sources.

Access to Databases and Journal Finder requires SUNY Erie username and password.

Ebsco
Uses EBSCO's Academic Search Premier as a model.
Citation assistance is also available in some databases (e.g., EBSCO products, CQ). Be sure to check the result for citation style accuracy.

Check out a database's HELP link for search guidance.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
A vast full-text collection of more than 6,500 historical periodicals published in the United States between 1693 and 1912, documenting the life of America’s people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction and into the early 20th century.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A prime source for scholarly articles.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
An all-purpose collection of scholarly and non-scholarly publications.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Humanities Full Text provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas and more.
Harpweek - The Civil War Era This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from 1857-1865 HarpWeek: The Civil War Era Electronic version of the Harper’s Weekly newspaper from 1857 to 1865. Full-text, full-image.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Databases include:
* Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law (primary sources)
* Pentagon Papers
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals. Social Sciences Full Text includes full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.

1. If your article's record has a 360 Link, click it. The 360 will search for that article in the other SUNY Erie databases and hardcopy periodicals.

2. Check with the Reference Librarian. The problem may be a temporary electronic glitch, the library may have a hard copy of the publication, or the article may be available through some other online route.

3. Request the article via Interlibrary Loan or see the Reference Librarian for assistance.

Google Scholar is a deep-web search engine. It can be effective way to find scholarly literature. Articles often are full-text. If an article is in an SUNY Erie database, Google Scholar will bring you to the article (SUNY Erie username and password may be required at this point). As always, check with a librarian for additional assistance.

Try a sample search. Click "Search Scholar" and enter your search term.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a deep-web search engine. It can be effective way to find scholarly literature. Articles often are full-text. If an article is in an SUNY Erie database journal, Google Scholar will bring you to the article (SUNY Erie username and password may be required at this point). As always, check with a librarian for additional assistance.

Try this sample search: Fourth amendment