LibGuides: U.S. History: Media

More Sources

SUNY Erie Login required.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Scroll down and click on Films on Demand.
Narrow search: Select Humanities & Social Sciences link for history-indexed videos.
Review the Special Collections options (e.g., Ken Burns, American Experience).

Broad search: For some topics, searching the full database may be more effective. Enter your keywords into the search box on the Films home page. web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Choose from more than 5,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, personalize folders and manage their entire collection through an administrative reporting system
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Use Subjects link -to identify categories and narrow topic areas.

The SUNY Erie media collection contains both non-fiction and historical fiction works. From the catalog, limit your collection to Media. Enter the keywords or subject terms relevant to your topic.

We Shall Remain: America Through Native Eyes
War of 1812
more...less...
Strong Niagara Frontier emphasis. War from the American, Indian, Canadian, and British perspectives. WNED productiion.
Aftershock: Beyond the Civil War
The Civil War
Ken Burns.
Mandate: The President and the People
19th Century Turning Points in U.S. History
more...less...
18th and 20th century videos also available.
1968 with Tom Brokaw
Slavery and the Making of America
The Tuskegee Airmen: They Fought Two Wars

Public broadcasting stations can be an excellent source for documentaries and interviews covering historical and current events relevant to US history.

PBS Programs(Public Broadcasting System, WNED Ch. 17)
more...less...
For a broad search, enter your keyword(s) in the search box.
For a targeted search, click the Watch Videos tab. It leads to indexes organizing content by Programs, Topics (history subtab), Collections.
American Experience (PBS series)
more...less...
Use the filters to identify relevant videos.
NPR Radio (National Public Radio, WBFO 88.7)
more...less...
Enter your key terms in the Search Box. Places phrases in quotes. A "Frances Perkins" search hits included links to other relevant sites and stories.
Bill Moyers
more...less...
Use the Filter options to limit results.

A web search of online videos brings quality hits (faculty lectures, authoritative documentaries) as well as bad onces (irrelevant, inaccurate, humorous, offensive). Use your critical thhinking skills to identify credible, usable results. Be sure to include the word video in the search box.

Try a sample search: Pullman Strike video