Security Intelligence by Qing Li; Gregory ClarkSimilar to unraveling a math word problem, Security Intelligence: A Practitioner's Guide to Solving Enterprise Security Challenges guides you through a deciphering process that translates each security goal into a set of security variables, substitutes each variable with a specific security technology domain, formulates the equation that is the deployment strategy, then verifies the solution against the original problem by analyzing security incidents and mining hidden breaches, ultimately refines the security formula iteratively in a perpetual cycle. You will learn about: Secure proxies - the necessary extension of the endpoints Application identification and control - visualize the threats Malnets - where is the source of infection and who are the pathogens Identify the security breach - who was the victim and what was the lure Security in Mobile computing - SNAFU With this book, you will be able to: Identify the relevant solutions to secure the infrastructure Construct policies that provide flexibility to the users so to ensure productivity Deploy effective defenses against the ever evolving web threats Implement solutions that are compliant to relevant rules and regulations Offer insight to developers who are building new security solutions and products
Publication Date: 2015
Introduction to Network Security by Jie Wang; Zachary A. KisselIntroductory textbook in the important area of network security for undergraduate and graduate students Comprehensively covers fundamental concepts with newer topics such as electronic cash, bit-coin, P2P, SHA-3, E-voting, and Zigbee security Fully updated to reflect new developments in network security Introduces a chapter on Cloud security, a very popular and essential topic Uses everyday examples that most computer users experience to illustrate important principles and mechanisms Features a companion website with Powerpoint slides for lectures and solution manuals to selected exercise problems, available at http://www.cs.uml.edu/~wang/NetSec
Publication Date: 2015
How to Measure Anything in Cybersecurity Risk by Douglas W. Hubbard; Richard SeiersenA ground shaking expos#65533; on the failure of popular cyber risk management methods How to Measure Anything in Cybersecurity Risk exposes the shortcomings of current "risk management" practices, and offers a series of improvement techniques that help you fill the holes and ramp up security. In his bestselling book How to Measure Anything, author Douglas W. Hubbard opened the business world's eyes to the critical need for better measurement. This book expands upon that premise and draws from The Failure of Risk Management to sound the alarm in the cybersecurity realm. Some of the field's premier risk management approaches actually create more risk than they mitigate, and questionable methods have been duplicated across industries and embedded in the products accepted as gospel. This book sheds light on these blatant risks, and provides alternate techniques that can help improve your current situation. You'll also learn which approaches are too risky to save, and are actually more damaging than a total lack of any security. Dangerous risk management methods abound; there is no industry more critically in need of solutions than cybersecurity. This book provides solutions where they exist, and advises when to change tracks entirely. Discover the shortcomings of cybersecurity's "best practices" Learn which risk management approaches actually create risk Improve your current practices with practical alterations Learn which methods are beyond saving, and worse than doing nothing Insightful and enlightening, this book will inspire a closer examination of your company's own risk management practices in the context of cybersecurity. The end goal is airtight data protection, so finding cracks in the vault is a positive thing--as long as you get there before the bad guys do. How to Measure Anything in Cybersecurity Risk is your guide to more robust protection through better quantitative processes, approaches, and techniques.
Publication Date: 2016
CISSP (ISC)2 Certified Information Systems Security Professional Official Study Guide by James M. Stewart; Mike Chapple; Darril GibsonCISSP Study Guide - fully updated for the 2015 CISSP Body of Knowledge CISSP (ISC)2 Certified Information Systems Security Professional Official Study Guide, 7th Edition has been completely updated for the latest 2015 CISSP Body of Knowledge. This bestselling Sybex study guide covers 100% of all exam objectives. You'll prepare for the exam smarter and faster with Sybex thanks to expert content, real-world examples, advice on passing each section of the exam, access to the Sybex online interactive learning environment, and much more. Reinforce what you've learned with key topic exam essentials and chapter review questions. Along with the book, you also get access to Sybex's superior online interactive learning environment that includes: Four unique 250 question practice exams to help you identify where you need to study more. Get more than 90 percent of the answers correct, and you're ready to take the certification exam. More than 650 Electronic Flashcards to reinforce your learning and give you last-minute test prep before the exam A searchable glossary in PDF to give you instant access to the key terms you need to know for the exam Coverage of all of the exam topics in the book means you'll be ready for: Security and Risk Management Asset Security Security Engineering Communication and Network Security Identity and Access Management Security Assessment and Testing Security Operations Software Development Security
Publication Date: 2015
Hacking for Dummies by Kevin BeaverLearn to hack your own system to protect against malicious attacks from outside Is hacking something left up to the bad guys? Certainly not! Hacking For Dummies, 5th Edition is a fully updated resource that guides you in hacking your system to better protect your network against malicious attacks. This revised text helps you recognize any vulnerabilities that are lurking in your system, allowing you to fix them before someone else finds them. Penetration testing, vulnerability assessments, security best practices, and other aspects of ethical hacking are covered in this book, including Windows 10 hacks, Linux hacks, web application hacks, database hacks, VoIP hacks, and mobile computing hacks. Additionally, you have access to free testing tools and an appendix detailing valuable tools and resources. Ethical hacking entails thinking like the bad guys to identify any vulnerabilities that they might find in your system--and fixing them before they do. Also called penetration testing, ethical hacking is essential to keeping your system, and all of its data, secure. Understanding how to perform effective ethical hacking can improve the safety of your network. Defend your system--and all of the data it holds--against the latest Windows 10 and Linux hacks Develop an effective ethical hacking plan that keeps your system safe Protect your web applications, databases, laptops, and smartphones by going beyond simple hacking strategies Leverage the latest testing tools and techniques when using ethical hacking to keep your system secure Hacking For Dummies, 5th Edition is a fully updated resource that guides you in hacking your own system to protect it--and it will become your go-to reference when ethical hacking is on your to-do list.