Object-Oriented PHP shows developers how to take advantage of the new object-oriented features of PHP. Working within the context of concrete examples, the book begins with code compatible with PHP 4 and 5, and then focuses on object-orientation in PHP 5. The author's practical approach uses numerous code examples, which will help developers get up to speed with object oriented PHP quickly, and show them how to apply what they learn to everyday situations.
"PHP 5 Fast & Easy Web Development" is an update to the highly successful edition covering version 4 (193184187X). Following the same format, this book includes easy-to-follow instructions and a multitude of actual screen shots. It also includes complete coverage of version 5 updates, including enhanced internal scripting engine, improved OO framework, new Object model, the SQLite embedded database engine, and XML support. It includes coverage of the final version of PHP 5 and is not based on the beta. This comprehensive book also includes coverage of Apache and MySQL, a basic PHP language reference, and MySQL language primer. Readers will gain a thorough understanding of PHP 5 using step-by-step instructions for creating a simple database and sample table.
Steve Krug distills his years of on-the-job experience into a practical primer on the do's and don'ts of good Web design. The second edition of this classic adds three new chapters that explain why people really leave Web sites, how to make sites usable and accessible, and the art of surviving executive design whims, plus a new preface and updated recommended reading.
Inventing the Internet by Janet AbbateSince the late 1960s the Internet has grown from a single experimental network serving a dozen sites in the United States to a network of networks linking millions of computers worldwide. In Inventing the Internet, Janet Abbate recounts the key players and technologies that allowed the Internet to develop; but her main focus is always on the social and cultural factors that influenced the Internets design and use. The story she unfolds is an often twisting tale of collaboration and conflict among a remarkable variety of players, including government and military agencies, computer scientists in academia and industry, graduate students, telecommunications companies, standards organizations, and network users. The story starts with the early networking breakthroughs formulated in Cold War think tanks and realized in the Defense Department's creation of the ARPANET. It ends with the emergence of the Internet and its rapid and seemingly chaotic growth. Abbate looks at how academic and military influences and attitudes shaped both networks; how the usual lines between producer and user of a technology were crossed with interesting and unique results; and how later users invented their own very successful applications, such as electronic mail and the World Wide Web. She concludes that such applications continue the trend of decentralized, user-driven development that has characterized the Internet's entire history and that the key to the Internet's success has been a commitment to flexibility and diversity, both in technical design and in organizational culture.