LibGuides: Biotechnological Science: Articles & Media

Streaming Video

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video platform for colleges that features a broad collection of over 27,000 films from 800 top producers such as Criterion Collection, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, First Run Features, Media Education Foundation, The Great Courses, and more.
Click "Visit the ECC Collection" and enter MYECC login when prompted
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Choose from more than 32,000 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, personalize folders, and embed in Blackboard. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.

Recommended Databases

Find additional journal articles from the SUNY Erie libraries' other subscription databases. SUNY Erie students and employees may request articles not available in the college's databases by submitting an interlibrary loan request.

Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Covering a wide variety of applied science specialties - from acoustics and aeronautics, to neural networks and nuclear & civil engineering - Applied Science & Technology Full Text provides full-text content and in-depth indexing and abstracts from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers' guides, directories and conference proceedings.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes scientific, technical, medical, and social science information from Elsevier Science and other publishers.
Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic. Complimentary COVID-19 trial access.

Article Search Parameters

To access only scholarly articles, you should check the "peer-reviewed" option in databases.

To receive only full-text articles, check the "full-text" option (Full-text means the full article is immediately available. If you don't choose full-text articles, you may only receive a citation or abstract of an article.)

You may want to adjust the data range and only search for articles within the last 5-10 years.

Search Tips

Too few articles

Check for spelling errors or typos
Use subject headings or keywords, do not use long phrases
Try using synonyms or utilize Boolean operator “OR” to search similar concepts (For example, tests OR measure)
If you have a good source, look at its subject headings or keywords to get search ideas for related articles

Too many articles

Add another aspect to your search using Boolean operator “AND” (For example, post intensive care syndrome AND quality of life)
Add limits, such as full-text, peer-reviewed, and date range