LibGuides: Early Childhood: Education Resources

Search Library

Find Articles

Use databases to find peer-review or scholarly articles for your papers and projects.

An SUNY Erie login is required to access articles from home.

Gale Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. It features extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Academic Search Complete
Contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.
Education Source
This full-text source of education scholarship provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods and much more.
ERIC
Provides access to the Educational Resource Information Center, with over full text for more than 2,200 titles.
JSTOR
Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work

Books

Use Primo to find more books. You may borrow books for three (3) weeks with a valid SUNY Erie ID card.

Early Childhood Education by Kimberly A. Gordon Biddle; Ana G. (Guadalupe) Garcia-Nevarez; Wanda J. Roundtree Henderson; Alicia Valero-Kerrick
Call Number: LB1732.3 .G67 2014, Erie City Library Circulating Collection

Early Childhood Education: Becoming a Professional is an inspiring introduction to the world of Early Childhood Education, preparing the educators of tomorrow to reach their full potential in their schools and communities.
Early Childhood Education Today by George S. Morrison
Call Number: LB1139.25 .M66 2015, Erie City Library Circulating Collection

George Morrison's goal in creating the Thirteenth Edition of "Early Childhood Education Today "was to collect the most current, researched-based information available on providing the high-quality early education "all" children need to be successful in school and in life.
Foundations of early childhood education: teaching children in a diverse society by Janet Gonzalez-Mena
Call Number: LB1139.23 .G65 2011, Erie City Library Circulating Collection

Foundations of Early Childhood Education: Teaching Children in a Diverse Society is a practical introduction to the field of early childhood education and can even be used as a hands-on guide.
Fundamentals of Early Childhood Education by George S. Morrison
Call Number: LB1139.25 .M67 2011, Erie City Library Circulating Collection

For Introduction to Early Childhood Education courses. Covers ages 0-8.The sixth edition of this brief, paperback, best-selling text is practical, based on current research and thinking about how young children learn, and provides concrete examples for how best to teach children from birth to age 8. It offers Morrison's friendly and accessible writing tone, comprehensive coverage, and practical application. A low cost, paperback alternative to the full edition.
Who Am I in the Lives of Children? an Introduction to Early Childhood Education with Enhanced Pearson EText -- Access Card Package by Stephanie Feeney; Eva Moravcik; Sherry Nolte
Call Number: LB1140.23 .F44 2016, Erie City Library Circulating Collection

A warm and comprehensive child-centered approach to early childhood education Who Am I in the Lives of Children? An Introduction to Early Childhood Education presents a constructivist approach to early childhood education (birth to grade 3) and care programs that is dedicated to the development of the whole child--physical, social, emotional, and intellectual.

Online Reference Books

Use online dictionaries and encyclopedias to find background information on your topic or project.

An SUNY Erie login is required to access information from home.

Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children by Olivia N. Saracho; Bernard Spodek
The Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children is the essential reference on research on early childhood education throughout the world. This singular resource provides a comprehensive overview of important contemporary issues as well as the information necessary to make informed judgments about these issues.
Key Concepts in Early Childhood Education and Care by Cathy Nutbrown
Key Concepts in Early Childhood Education and Care, Cathy Nutbrown's second edition, explains the key ideas and issues in Early Childhood clearly and concisely, keeping students up-to-date with the latest developments in the field. New entries include: Attachment Babies' learning and development Children's Centers Citizenship Digital Technologies Early Years Foundation Stage Early Years Professional Status Neuroscience Sexualities
Key Concepts in Education by Jon Nixon; Lesley Aers; Fred Inglis
Key Concepts in Education provides students with over 100 essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.

Gale eBooks
Provides access to more than 1,000 electronic reference titles eBooks; in virtually any subject, including health, science, art, history, biography and many more. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.

Curriculum and Instruction by A. Jonathan Eakle (Editor)
This volume tackles the topic of curriculum and instruction. Each chapter opens with an introductory essay by the volume editor, followed by point/counterpoint articles written and signed by invited experts, and concludes with Further Readings and Resources, thus providing readers with views on multiple sides of curriculum and instruction issues and pointing them toward more in-depth resources for further exploration.
Early Childhood Education by Salem Press
This work is designed to provide a solid foundation for the research of various educational topics. This volume offers an introduction to childhood development and the impact that childcare and early education programs can have on the learning process.
Encyclopedia of Education
This fully-revised second edition offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world.

DVDs

Use Primo to find more DVDs. You may borrow most DVDs for two (2) weeks with a valid SUNY Erie ID card.

Discussion of curricular theories and practices that develop high-quality integration of science into classroom activities. by Carr, Victoria M. E; Hieronymus, Brenda
Call Number: DVD LB1139.5.S35 S35 2008, Erie City Library Media Circulating

Discussion of curricular theories and practices that develop high-quality integration of science into classroom activities.
Mathematics in early childhood education by Carr, Victoria M. E; Purdy, Tom
Call Number: DVD QA135.6 .M38 2007, Erie City Library Media Circulating

Children begin to learn mathematics well before entering school. Children form the basis for mathematics development through everyday interactions such as giving each friend at the table one cookie, dividing cookies between friends, or counting how many objects they have. Teachers can foster this naturally occurring course of development by providing intentional experiences based on their knowledge of mathematical development.
Observation of young children I: the eyes have it! by Woronko, Ula; Shapiro, Leah; Olenick, Rhoda
Call Number: DVD LB1139.23 .O2711 2004, Erie City Library Media Circulating Collection

This DVD describes techniques used in authentic assessment of four major areas of childhood development: social/emotional, cognition, physical and language.
Social studies in early childhood education by Carr, Victoria M. E; Purdy, Tom
Call Number: DVD LB1139.5.S64 .S63 2008, Erie City Library Media Circulating

Creating an environment that supports social studies concepts can be challenging. Discover how to encourage children to work collaboratively, respect and value others, become contributing citizens of a community, and construct knowledge of time to support history content standards. This film focuses on setting up an early childhood classroom for a community of learners, allowing teachers to incorporate social sciences concepts into lessons in developmentally appropriate ways.
Starting small: teaching tolerance in preschool and the early grades by Southern Poverty Law Center
Call Number: DVD LC1099.3 .S89 2008, Erie City Library Media Circulating Collection

The vision of community that the early childhood classroom provides can color children's ideas and expectations about equity, cooperation and citizenship for a lifetime

Videos

An SUNY Erie login required to play videos from home.

Films on Demand
A web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Choose from more than 32,000 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, personalize folders, and embed in Blackboard. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.