EN - 100 Composition 1: Rhetorical Strategies - English Rojas - LibGuides at SUNY Erie Community College

Using Primo

Library Research/Databases

Annotated Bibliographies - OWL Purdue
From OWL: An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources.
Annotated Bibliography Breakdown - OWL Purdue
Annotated Bibliography Samples - OWL Purdue
Below you will find sample annotations from annotated bibliographies, each with a different research project. Remember that the annotations you include in your own bibliography should reflect your research project and/or the guidelines of your assignment.

APA Sample Citations-SUNY Erie Libraries handout
This guide is based on the Publication Manual of the American Psychological
Association, 7th ed., by the American Psychological Association, Washington DC, 2010.
The Manual is frequently known as the “APA”. The guide is designed to provide a quick
resource for citing references. For more detailed information refer to this handbook in
Reference (Ref BF76.7.P83 2020)
MLA Citation Examples - SUNY Erie Libraries Handout
SAMPLE CITATIONS AND SOURCE DOCUMENTATION
Modern Language Association of America - www.mla.org
This guide is based on the MLA Handbook, 8th ed., MLA, 2016. It is designed to provide a quick resource
for citing references. For more detailed information refer to the MLA Handbook at your campus library
(LB2369 .G53 2016) or visit your campus English Lab – https://myecc.ecc.edu/tutoring/.
Online Writing Lab - Purdue
From the OWL site:
Welcome to the Purdue OWL. We offer free resources including Writing and Teaching Writing, Research, Grammar and Mechanics, Style Guides, ESL (English as a Second Language), and Job Search and Professional Writing.
OWL - APA Resources
From OWL: APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 7th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, (7th ed.).
OWL - MLA Resources
From OWL: MLA style is most commonly used to cite sources within the language arts, cultural studies, and other humanities disciplines. This resource, revised according to the 9th edition of the MLA manual published in April 2021, offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. For more information, please consult the official MLA Handbook (9th ed.).

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic is a combination of the Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, thesaurus, magazines, periodicals, and many other research tools providing a variety of reliable sources students need for research.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Provides advice on career skills, and Information on more than 3,000 jobs and 94 industries. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 1,000 electronic reference titles eBooks; in virtually any subject, including health, science, art, history, biography and many more. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as The New York Times, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, and the Buffalo News.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article - from Trocaire College - SCHOLARLY ARTICLE INFOGRAPHIC

Evaluating Information - The CRAAP Test - California State University, Chico

When you search for information, you're going to find lots of it . . . but is it good information? You will
have to determine that for yourself, and the CRAAP Test can help. The CRAAP Test is a list of questions to
help you evaluate the information you find. Different criteria will be more or less important depending on
your situation or need.

Identifying Scholarly Articles

Peer-Reviewed Articles - From San Diego State University - What is a scholarly journal?

Plagiarism

Scholarly vs. Popular - SCHOLARY VS. POPULAR INFOGRAPHIC

Topic Selection

Get additional help with MLA Style, APA Style, and proofreading your writing from a

SUNY Erie English Skills Center tutor.

North Campus: Library, room D102A, phone 716-851-1582
South Campus: Room 4212, phone 716-851-1762
City Campus: Room 360, phone 716-851-1060

To request online tutoring email: englishtutoring@ecc.edu

View all the walk-in and online tutoring schedules