EN - 101: Composition for the Humanities - English Rojas - LibGuides at SUNY Erie Community College

Using Primo

Library Resources/Databases

Annotated Bibliographies - OWL Purdue
From OWL: An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources.
Annotated Bibliography Breakdown - OWL Purdue
Annotated Bibliography Samples - OWL Purdue
Below you will find sample annotations from annotated bibliographies, each with a different research project. Remember that the annotations you include in your own bibliography should reflect your research project and/or the guidelines of your assignment.

MLA Citation Examples - SUNY Erie Libraries Handout
SAMPLE CITATIONS AND SOURCE DOCUMENTATION
Modern Language Association of America - www.mla.org
This guide is based on the MLA Handbook, 8th ed., MLA, 2016. It is designed to provide a quick resource
for citing references. For more detailed information refer to the MLA Handbook at your campus library
(LB2369 .G53 2016) or visit your campus English Lab – https://myecc.ecc.edu/tutoring.
Online Writing Lab - Purdue
From the OWL site:
Welcome to the Purdue OWL. We offer free resources including Writing and Teaching Writing, Research, Grammar and Mechanics, Style Guides, ESL (English as a Second Language), and Job Search and Professional Writing.
OWL - MLA Resources
From OWL: MLA style is most commonly used to cite sources within the language arts, cultural studies, and other humanities disciplines. This resource, revised according to the 9th edition of the MLA manual published in April 2021, offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. For more information, please consult the official MLA Handbook (9th ed.).

** Remember that a Database is: A specific collection of information. **

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window A vast full-text collection of more than 6,500 historical periodicals published in the United States between 1693 and 1912, documenting the life of America’s people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction and into the early 20th century.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window Britannica Academic is a combination of the Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, thesaurus, magazines, periodicals, and many other research tools providing a variety of reliable sources students need for research.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window This collection includes over 10,000 eBooks, covering most areas of academic study
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window Provides advice on career skills, and Information on more than 3,000 jobs and 94 industries. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. It features extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window Newsstand is afull-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or newspaper section. This includes full-text articles from the New York Times.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Provides access to more than 1,000 electronic reference titles eBooks; in virtually any subject, including health, science, art, history, biography and many more. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Humanities Full Text provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work
Kanopy This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a streaming video platform for colleges that features a broad collection of over 27,000 films from 800 top producers such as Criterion Collection, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, First Run Features, Media Education Foundation, The Great Courses, and more. Click "Visit the ECC Collection" and enter MYECC login when prompted
NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window NewsBank Access World News features print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos from over 3000 sources, including the Buffalo News and other NY newspapers. Also includes Special Reports and Current Events.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications.
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window Small collection of reference eBooks. Current subject areas include Careers, Health, History, Literature, and Science.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law brings together, for the first time, all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world, as well as materials on free African-Americans in the colonies and the U.S. before 1870. Included are every statute passed by every state and colony, all federal statutes, all reported state and federal cases on slavery, and hundreds of books and pamphlets on the subject.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window This resource provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals. Social Sciences Full Text includes full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article - from Trocaire College - SCHOLARLY ARTICLE INFOGRAPHIC

Evaluating Information

Evaluating Information - The CRAAP Test - California State University, Chico

When you search for information, you're going to find lots of it . . . but is it good information? You will
have to determine that for yourself, and the CRAAP Test can help. The CRAAP Test is a list of questions to
help you evaluate the information you find. Different criteria will be more or less important depending on
your situation or need.

Identifying Scholarly Articles

Peer-Reviewed Articles - From San Diego State University - What is a scholarly journal?

Plagiarism

Scholarly vs. Popular - SCHOLARY VS. POPULAR INFOGRAPHIC

Topic Selection

Get additional help with MLA Style, APA Style, and proofreading your writing from a

SUNY Erie English Skills Center tutor.

North Campus: Library, room D102A, phone 716-851-1582
South Campus: Room 4212, phone 716-851-1762
City Campus: Room 360, phone 716-851-1060

To request online tutoring email: englishtutoring@ecc.edu

View all the walk-in and online tutoring schedules