LibGuides: Occupational Therapy Assistant: Articles

Use Primo to find SUNY Erie Library books, articles, and more

Explore Relevant Article Databases

The Library's Primo search engine locates results in library databases like those listed below. Often the articles contained in databases are available as PDF or HTML files that will open in your Internet browser or a PDF application like Adobe Acrobat Reader. You can explore all of our databases at the A-Z Databases list.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, this resource provides full text for nursing and allied health journals, many of which have no embargo delays.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc. MEDLINE makes up the largest part of the PubMed database.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Covers of nursing and allied health.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic. Complimentary COVID-19 trial access.

NOTE: SUNY Erie students and employees may request articles that are not available in the college's databases.

CINAHL Databases Advanced Search Tutorial Video (3 min. 45 sec.)
Covers the core Advanced Search features of all EBSCO's CINAHL products
CINAHL Frequently Asked Questions
MEDLINE Ultimate - Tutorial Video (3 min. 05 sec.)
Covers the core features of all EBSCOhost's MEDLINE products. See also: Advanced Searching on EBSCOhost - Tutorial
MEDLINE Frequently Asked Questions

Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Contains consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.

You can explore all of our databases at the A-Z Databases list.

NOTE: SUNY Erie students and employees may request articles that are not available in the college's databases.

Search Tips

Too few articles

Check for spelling errors or typos
Use subject headings or keywords, do not use long phrases
Try using synonyms or utilize Boolean operator “OR” to search similar concepts (For example, tests OR measure)
If you have a good source, look at its subject headings or keywords to get search ideas for related articles

Too many articles

Add another aspect to your search using Boolean operator “AND” (For example, post intensive care syndrome AND quality of life)
Add limits, such as full-text, peer-reviewed, and date range

Article Search Parameters

To access only scholarly articles, you should check the "peer-reviewed" option in databases.

To receive only full-text articles, check the "full-text" option (Full-text means the full article is immediately available. If you don't choose full-text articles, you may only receive a citation or abstract of an article.)

You may want to adjust the data range and only search for articles within the last 5-10 years.