LibGuides: Occupational Therapy Assistant: Transcultural Health Care

Transcultural Health Resources - Websites

Culturally Competent Nursing Care A free, online educational program accredited for nurses. Brought to you by Think Cultural Health and sponsored by the US Dept. of Health and Human Services Office of Minority Health.
EthnoMed EthnoMed contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and related topics pertinent to the health care of immigrants to the US, many of whom are refugees fleeing war-torn parts of the world.
MedlinePlus Health Information in Multiple Languages by Health Topic Use the trusted resources at MedlinePlus to browse health information in multiple languages, arranged by health topic.
MedlinePlus Health Information in Multiple Languages Use the trusted resources at MedlinePlus to browse health information in multiple languages, arranged by language.
Office of Minority Health - U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services The mission of the Office of Minority Health (OMH) is to improve and protect the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will eliminate health disparities.
more...less...
OMH was established in 1986 by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). It advises the Secretary and the Office of Public Health and Science (OPHS) on public health program activities affecting American Indians and Alaska Natives, Asian Americans, Blacks/African Americans, Hispanics/Latinos, Native Hawaiians, and other Pacific Islanders.
National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC) - Georgetown University NCCC Seeks to increase the capacity of health care & mental health care programs to design, implement, and evaluate culturally and linguistically competent service delivery systems to address growing diversity, persistent disparities, and to promote health & mental health equity.

Exploring World Cultures - Websites

World Culture Encyclopedia World Culture Encyclopedia includes a combination of content created by its publisher Advameg, Inc., their partners, and community users.
The World Factbook - CIA The World Factbook is maintained by the US Central Intelligence Agency. It provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
World of Cultures World of Cultures is a Worldview Project initiative. Through this site visitors can access educational materials, multimedia content, resources and links related to world cultures, travel and the study of countries and cultures.

Related Research Guide

Transcultural Health Resources - Books & Media

The desire for health and well-being extends through all cultures. However, differences between cultures may create obstacles that hinder communication and perception. These resources are designed to assist health care providers and patients with overcoming these obstacles.

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, ed. 3 (2014)
This work includes 23 new ethnic groups and contains 152 revised ethnic entries on specific minority groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life, ed. 3 (2017)
Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.
Handbook for Culturally Competent Care by Larry D. Purnell and Eric A. Fenkl (2019)
This book explores cultures and the issues healthcare professionals need to consider. It coveris heritage, communication styles, family roles and organization, workforce issues, biocultural ecology, high-risk health behaviors, nutrition, pregnancy and childbearing, death rituals, spirituality, healthcare practices, and views of healthcare providers.
Women's Lives around the World: A Global Encyclopedia (2018)
This encyclopedia examines the lives of women around the world, with coverage that includes the education of girls and teens; the key roles women play in their families, careers, religions, and cultures; how issues for women intersect with colonialism, transnationalism, feminism, and established norms of power and control.
Transcultural Medical Care/Transcultural Nursing Resources at the SUNY Erie Libraries
This link will display relevant print and electronic books that are available at the SUNY Erie libraries for borrowing, for use inside the libraries, or available online.