LibGuides: Vision Care Technology: Internet Resources

Eye Wear and Vision Health Information Resources

MedlinePlus: Eye Wear MedelinePlus provides professional and consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
All About Vision All About Vision was launched in January 2000 to provide consumers with an independent source of trustworthy information on eye health and vision correction options.
Center for Disease Control: Vision Health Initiative (VHI) The Vision Health Initiative (VHI) promotes vision health and quality of life for all populations, through all life stages, by preventing and controlling eye diseases, eye injury, and vision loss resulting in disability.
National Eye Institute (NEI) NEI's mission is to "conduct and support research, training, health information dissemination, and other programs with respect to blinding eye diseases, visual disorders, mechanisms of visual function, preservation of sight, and the special health problems and requirements of the blind."
VisionAWARE VisionAWARE, a national not-for-profit organization, maintains this free and practical website specifically designed to provide self-help information to adults with vision loss, their families and friends, and those who work with them.

Professional Medical Literature Resources on the Internet

Researching Medical Literature on the Internet
Explains key Internet resources for medical research
DailyMed
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA approved labels (package inserts). The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements.
Drug Information Portal
The portal provides quick access to quality drug information from multiple medical research organizations. Maintained by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
PubMed
Digital archive of citations from biomedical and life sciences journals. - Partial full text. Many of the cited articles found in PubMed are available in full text from SUNY Erie's access to MEDLINE with Full Text.
PubMed Central
An open access database of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. A sub-division of PubMed. - Full text
U.S. National Library of Medicine
The National Library of Medicine (NLM), in Bethesda, Maryland, is the world's largest biomedical library and a developer of electronic medical research services.