LibGuides: Sustainable Agriculture and the American Diet: Library Resources

Search the Library

What is Sustainable Agriculture?

Sustainable agriculture produces abundant food without depleting the earth’s resources or polluting its environment.
http://attra.ncat.org/attra-pub/PDF/sustagintro.pdf

...a safe, nutritious, ample, and affordable food supply is produced by a legion of family farmers who make a decent living pursuing their trade, while protecting the environment, and contributing to the strength and stability of their communities.
http://sustainableagriculture.net/about-us/

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, etc. (Electronic book format)

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
A three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society.
Environmental Encyclopedia
Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible.

Databases

Find articles from relevant databases that SUNY Erie provides.

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Contains information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Contains consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.

Films on Demand

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Choose from more than 32,000 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, personalize folders, and embed in Blackboard. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.