This 10-volume set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture. Its cross-cultural perspective meets high school curricular requirements for world studies and social sciences. The single volume Supplement covers 65 cultures not included in the original set and provides updates to cultures that have changed significantly during the past 10 to 15 years.

The Encyclopedia of Anthropology is a unique collection of over 1200 entries that focuses on topics in physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy and theology. The contributions are authored by over 300 internationally renowned experts, professors and scholars from some of the most distinguished museums, universities and institutes in the world. It provides students, academics and a wide range of interested readers with a greater understanding of, and deeper appreciation for, those facts, concepts, methods, hypotheses and perspectives that make up modern anthropology and related disciplines.

This companion provides a comprehensive survey of contemporary thinking in biological, social and cultural anthropology. In bringing these three fields together, it establishes their interconnections, and lays the foundations for an integrated perspective on the conditions of human life appropriate to the challenges of the future. In 35 chapters, a selection of the world's leading authorities present their own visions in their different fields and chart out new directions of inquiry.

This guide provides a reference for anyone seeking information about the predominant and variable cultural forms, mores, and modes of expression in virtually every country. Entries cover many of the elements that together constitute the predominant culture, as well as lost cultures of the world.

Features coverage of every Native American culture that exists today in the United States and Canada. In addition, there is full coverage of such diverse groups as Cajuns, African Americans, Amish, Mormons and Latinos.