Skip to Main Content

Cultural Anthropology

Resources for AN102 Cultural Anthropology, Dr. Monique Fortunato

Articles

Articles are great resources for research. Before you begin, make sure you know:

Use the databases to search for articles on your topic.

Databases

Here are some suggested databases:

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. It features extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Need help? View a brief video tutorial.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes scientific, technical, medical, and social science information from Elsevier Science and other publishers.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 1,950 periodicals, covering general reference, business, health, education, etc. It also includes nearly 500 reference books, biographies, primary source documents and an Image Collection of 192,999 photos, maps, and flags.

Fisherman in Papua New Guinea. From the Collections of the National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian Institution

Search tips

Too few articles

Check for spelling errors or typos
Use subject headings or keywords, do not use long phrases
Try using synonyms or utilize Boolean operator “OR” to search similar concepts (For example, Native americans OR Indians of North America)
If you have a good source, look at its subject headings or keywords to get search ideas for related articles

Too many articles

Add another aspect to your search using Boolean operator “AND” (For example, Trobriand Islanders AND Social life & customs)
Add limits, such as full-text, peer-reviewed, and date range

Search the Library with Primo

How to Identify Scholarly Articles

Visit SUNY Erie spacer bullet

Campus Maps
Contact the Library

Code from these LibGuides pages are a derivative of LibGuides code by UC Santa Cruz University Library, used under CC BY.

Accessibility
Title IX
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login