Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are Evidence-Based Resources?
Evidence-based resources are comprised of single research studies, critically appraised topics and articles, systematic reviews, and meta analyses.
The evidence pyramid depicts the level of the quality of evidence for each type of resource.
What is Evidence-Based Practice?
Evidence-based practice is the integration of a clinician's expertise supported by evidence-based research and informed by a patient's values and preferences.
"What is Evidence-Based Practice?"
by Duke University Medical Center is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
How do I search for Evidence-Based Resources?
There are both Library resources and Web resources for searching for evidence-based practices (EBP). The difference for you is that many of the library resources will be immediately available for you in full-text. Resources found in other EBP resources may need to be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
Select the EBM Reviews box under Search Options in MEDLINE to narrow your search to evidence-based practice.
MEDLINE provides information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc.
Select the Evidence Based Practice box under Search Options in CINAHL to limit your search to evidence-based practice.
CINAHL is the online version the Cumultive Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature.
Using the search options described above will focus your search results to information under the category of evidence-based medicine. This includes articles from evidence based practice journals, articles about evidence based practice, research articles (including systematic reviews, clinical trials, meta analysis, qualitative studies), commentaries on research studies (applying practice to research), case studies if they meet the criteria of the use of research and/or evidence based practice terms.
Web Evidence-Based Resources
Research Articles, Systematic Reviews, and Meta analyses
Pubmed.gov is a database provided by the US National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. It comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites
Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice - Training Course
PubMed is a free research tool from the National Library of Medicine®. This course will show you how to use evidence-based practice when searching clinical questions using PubMed®.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials.
Critically Appraised Topics
EPC Evidence-Based Reports
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), through its EPCs, sponsors the development of various reports to assist public- and private-sector organizations in their efforts to improve the quality of health care in the United States. These reports provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new health care technologies and strategies.
|call the library: