This book is intended for IT professionals and students who want to learn how to design, analyze, and understand databases.

Written primarily for readers who work with the DB2 system, this book covers everything they need to know in order to pass the exam to become IBM-certified database administrators for DB2 10.1 or DB2 10.5 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows. This comprehensive study guide goes step by step through all of the topics on the test. Each chapter contains an extensive set of practice questions along with carefully explained answers, and a complete practice test that closely models the actual exam is included with an answer key. The book discusses server management, activity monitoring, high availability, security, and connectivity and networking, among other issues.

Discover how you can migrate a traditional on-premise SQL server database to a cloud-based solution with Microsoft Azure. Built with database administrators in mind, this book emulates different scenarios you might come across while working with large, complex SQL database migrations and provides solutions for effectively managing the migrated databases. Key Features Implement backup, restore, and recovery of Azure SQL databases Create shards and elastic pools to scale Azure SQL databases Automate common management tasks with PowerShell Implement over 40 practical activities and exercises across 24 topics to reinforce your learning Book Description As the cloud version of SQL Server, Azure SQL Database differs in key ways when it comes to management, maintenance, and administration. It's important to know how to administer SQL Database to fully benefit from all of the features and functionality that it provides. This book addresses important aspects of an Azure SQL Database instance such as migration, backup restorations, pricing policies, security, scalability, monitoring, performance optimization, high availability, and disaster recovery. It is a complete guide for database administrators, and ideal for those who are planning to migrate from on premise SQL Server database to an Azure SQL Server database. What you will learn Learn how to provision a new database or migrate an existing on-premise solution Understand how to backup, restore, secure, and scale your own Azure SQL Database Optimize the performance by monitoring and tuning your cloud-based SQL instance Implement high availability and disaster recovery procedures with SQL Database Develop a roadmap for your own scalable cloud solution with Azure SQL Database Who this book is for This book is ideal for database administrators, database developers, or application developers who are interested in developing or migrating existing applications with Azure SQL Database. Prior experience of working with an on-premise SQL Server deployment and brief knowledge of PowerShell and C# are recommended prerequisites.